Will The Htc Desire HD work in Canada?General


Last Updated:

  1. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1

    Advertisement
  2. kenypowa

    kenypowa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will it work in Canada at all? If it will what are the maximum speeds? Are they close to 3G?
     
  4. outcastrc

    outcastrc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'd be almost glad if it couldn't work. Then I can just get the captivate rather then trying to figure out a way to get this....
     
  5. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    What are you guys talking about the phone is 3g so why wont it worked unlocked!

    T mobile UK is hspda+ just like my carrier which is also known as 3g+ so as long as the phone is unlocked it will work on Telus, Bell mobility and Sasktel!
     
  6. partridge

    partridge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    57
    I think the phone's GPS knows when it's in Canada and simply switches off. Apparently the head of htc had a bad experience over there*



    *only kidding! chortle, chortle
     
  7. ecitron

    ecitron Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why not?

    These are the specs:

    Network 4

    Europe:
    HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
    Asia Pacific:
    HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz


    Rogers and fido :

    850MHz and 1900MHz (North America-wide) = 2G network where voice and data are interchangeable
    850MHz (Canada) = 3G voice and data network
    1900MHz (AT&T) = 3G voice and data network



    Where is the problem?
     
  8. zorxd

    zorxd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    It will work in Canada, but only on Rogers' GSM/GPRS/EDGE (aka "2G") network. So instead of a 14 Mbps phone you will get a ~400 kbps (whatever the exact speed of EDGE is) phone.
    Why? Because if you read the specs, it only supports W-CDMA on the 900 and 2100 MHz bands, which are not used in North America.
    For Bell/Telus/Rogers W-CDMA, you need 850 or 1900 MHz (aka UMTS bands V or II). You need both if you don't want huge dead spots. 1900 MHz is moslty used in cities and 850 MHz in the country.
    For Videotron, WIND, Mobilicity etc. you need the 1700 MHz band (aka UMTS band IV)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UMTS_frequency_bands
     
  9. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it's because it has to be 850 and 1900 in the HSPA section. So I don't think this will work on 3G in Canada.

    Here is a quote from the Rogers Wireless page on Wikipedia. (Link at the bottom of the page)



    • GSM/GPRS/EDGE on the 850 and 1900 MHz bands (Also known as 2G GSM, or 2.5G in the case of EDGE)
    • UMTS/HSPA on the 850 and 1900 MHz bands (Also known as 3G GSM)

    Rogers Wireless - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
  10. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    Sasktel has a hspda+ network running on 1900 mhz will it work for voice and 3g data?
     
  11. zorxd

    zorxd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, Desire HD won't work at all on Sasktel (just like Bell and Telus).
    You guys need to wait for a north american Desire HD or get a Galaxy S
     
  12. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok so what is the reasoning behind this?
     
  13. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Click on the link in my first post....See where it says Network...Then in the HSPA section the frequencies are 900/2100.

    The only way this phone works on 3G networks is on ones that have 900/2100mhz in the HSPA section.

    This phone in Canada will connect to 850/1900mhz, but only on 2G. Look at my previous post about Rogers wireless to understand what I mean.
     
  14. zorxd

    zorxd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Read previous posts. And look at the specs.
    The specs says that W-CDMA works on the 900 and 2100 MHz bands.
    You just said that Sasktel's W-CDMA network is 1900 MHz, so it won't work.
     
  15. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    So it would work just on the slower 2g network on my carrier?
     
  16. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah which makes this phone not even worth buying to use in Canada. Look at Zorxd's post. The speeds will be dramatically slower....Like 30 times slower or more.
     
  17. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
  18. zorxd

    zorxd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    If your carrier is Rogers (and Fido, Chatr, etc.) then yes (as others said, with very slow data)
    Otherwise, no.
    Bell/Telus/Sasktel/etc. have no "2g" GSM network.
     
  19. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    According to Sasktel's wikipedia page Sasktel is now running a UMTS/HSPDA+ network.
     
  20. FreshPrince

    FreshPrince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will this phone work on any 3G network in the USA?
     
  21. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's like you're letting your hope to wanna use this phone in Canada blind you. If you read this entire thread and all the information that has been shared you will see that you can't use this phone in Canada on 3G.

    The reason has already been stated why but I'll mention it again...It doesn't matter about Sasktel having a UMTS/HSPDA+ network. It's on the phone itself where the problem is. It uses a different frequency range on the phone for 3G. This is what the HTC Desire HD uses to connect to 3G HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz.

    This is what 3G in Canada looks like UMTS/HSPA on the 850 and 1900 MHz bands.

    If you use this phone in Canada it will connect to 850 and 1900 mhz bands, but ONLY ON 2G. Not the 3G 850 and 1900 mhz frequencies. Why? Because the phone ONLY connects to 900/2100 mhz 3G frequencies.
     
  22. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok will the Desire work on the 3g network what about the Nexus One?
     
  23. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    So all I have to do is buy a tri band android phone for it to work?
     
  24. Darkstar2010

    Darkstar2010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes both of those phones will work. But you have to make sure not to buy the european versions of those phones for the exact same reasons stated in this thread. And I think Verizons network is different as well and wont work in Canada.. So buying phones from Verizon wont work either....I cant remember for sure though. But it's 1 of the American carriers.

    When you goto buy your phone, make sure it says this... UMTS/HSPA: 850 and 1900 MHz
     
  25. zorxd

    zorxd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, on frequencies not supported by the European Desire HD

    No

    The Telus Desire, once unlocked, will work on Bell/Telus/Rogers/Sasktel/AT&T HSPA networks because they all are 850/1900 MHz.
    The euro/asian Desire will have the same problem as the euro Desire HD, they are both 900/2100 MHz.

    There are again two Nexus One.
    One works on the 1700 AWS frequencies (WIND, Videotron, T-mobile USA, etc.), as well as euro/asian 900 and 2100 MHz bands.
    The other works on 850/1900 (Bell etc.), as well as 2100 MHz.

    No, you need to look which bands are supported for WCDMA. If it is 900/1700/2100 then you are out of luck on Sasktel.

    Verizon phones are CDMA2000 / EVDO. So they can roam on the old Bell/Telus. But they don't have a SIM card and I don't think they can even be switched to a different carrier.
     

Share This Page

Loading...