Will we ever get Sense UI?


Last Updated:

  1. ztmike

    ztmike Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    I heard about this Sense UI on some older Android powered phones, but decided to look more into it and I've got to say..I'm shocked Google doesn't have at least the option of turning on Sense UI on the Nexus.

    I'm not sure who created Sense but HTC seems to know their stuff when it comes to it as seen on their Youtube channel at:
    YouTube - HTC Sense

    And then I decided to look at Googles forum for the Nexus to see if anything was brought up about it and it was and a Google employee replied by saying this:

    Why no HTC sense UI on the Nexus one? - Android Help

    Sounds to me like their not all that worried about bringing Sense UI to the Nexus.

    Reply to that thread to let Google know you want it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    Google wouldn't add this because its someone else's idea and unless Google are planning on buying HTC I could never see it happening. However they might rip it of ever so closely, after all that never been done before has it....
     
  3. ztmike

    ztmike Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    What do you mean its someone elses idea? Our phone was built from HTC. The Nexus is a HTC product. Just Google helped designed it.
     
  4. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    No they didn't and no it isn't. Google designed the software and designed the phone, HTC simply built the phone on their behalf! Sense is an application HTC developed for all their phones as an user interface so they own the rights just as anyone else does that allows you to run their software on an Android phone. Google have an agreement with HTC to support the phone they built but that's about it. You've neither not about to or have just bought the Nexus from HTC, you bought it from Google, its just that the supplier has made an agreement with the manufacturer to supply support for the phone built from their factory.
     
  5. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    According to the Google forums, they are happy to "hear [our] thoughts" on "this matter" and will "take it into consideration."
     
  6. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    As I said, they can either buy the company or the rights or just copy it enough to get away with it....
     
  7. ztmike

    ztmike Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't see why HTC would have a problem bringing Sense UI to a HTC labeled phone.
     
  8. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    It may look pretty, but then you're relying on HTC to update it before you can get any of the Android OS updates. Wasn't it nice to hear about the OTA update that fixed things people were extremely miffed about and then have it applied on your phone within a couple of days?

    I doubt HTC will stop supporting their phones like Samsung have done with the Galaxy (seriously, wtf, way to make consumers hate the company) but there's no saying they won't. This phone needs to last me two years. Who's to say HTC won't have completely overhauled their phone OS objectives (like the new windows mobile).

    Stock Android = great for me. I like broken things to be fixed ASAP, and don't think that Sense UI would bring all that much to my phone experience.

    Still. With the new HTC.. um... Nexus twin (can't remember the name!) you never know what our technology minded community might be able to do.
     
  9. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    Simply because technically it isn't their phone, its the Google phone. Yes it has their name on it it but then so does a phone with o2, Vodafone, Verzion AT&T, 3, T-Mobile or whatever written on it, its all part of deals and licences. Yes HTC built the phone and as part of the deal they are allowed to put their name on it too because thats what Google agreed with them because Google is an advertising company! Trust me in a different life I was involved in 3rd party manufacturing, remember a company called SC&T or Platinum Sound that supplied PC speakers and accessories? I worked for them n believe me, Hot Wheels didn't build, approve or use the Wheels we sold, that was just a licence, just as we bought items from Chinese manufactures made and branded to our requirements to sell in the U.S. and Europe!
     
  10. ztmike

    ztmike Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm pretty sure HTC wouldn't mind if Google brought the Sense UI to the Nexus..hell I bet they would even work with Google to accomplish it.

    I mean hell..it can't be that hard to do to bring it to the Nexus..if the HTC Hero from Sprint can manage it with way lower specs than the Nexus I know damn right the Nexus could run it, and probably ALOT better.

    The new and upcoming HTC Legend has a updated Sense UI and runs Android but even that phone is clocked in at 600mhz compared to HTC Heros 528mhz..imagine how nicely it would run on the Nexus with a 1ghz powered cpu. It would pwn all.

    And the Sense UI is not just a "pretty interface" it serves function to, as seen in the Youtube video that I posted in my OP.

    Link for info on HTC Legend
    http://www.slashgear.com/htc-legend-hands-on-1674169/
    http://www.engadget.com/2010/02/16/htc-legend-hands-on/

    I just remembered something..doesn't the Home++ app have a Sense UI like type interface to it? Or is that Home+ I think there's more than just one Home+(+)? app on the market? Anyone know?

    Edit: Its "Beautiful Widget" on the marketplace..I just bought it, not bad I guess only paid $1.37 or something.
     
  11. ikon

    ikon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    23
    I for one don't want Sense on my phone. If you want it you'll be able to grab a custom Sense rom after the Desire comes out I'm sure.
     
  12. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    32
    I hope not myself.

    Sense UI really slowed down any updates with the HTC Hero (still on 1.5 at the moment). I wanted a decent Android phone with as clean a rom as can be and the Nexus One was perfect for me.

    As long as its optional and doesn't slow down any updates to Android then give people the choice, if it will slow things down, keep it off my Nexus One! :p
     
  13. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Take a look at the back of this Sprint Hero w/ Sense UI:

    [​IMG]

    Now take a look at the back of your Nexus One. Can you find the word that is on your Nexus One and not on the Hero?

    Since the Nexus One is a "Google Experience" device, it will NEVER run Sense UI.

    Disclaimer: Of course, by NEVER I mean stock. Pretty sure as soon as the Desire's image is leaked, it'll be running on a bunch of N1's.
     
  14. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    13
    I wouldn't mind a Sense Copy, because theres alot of things I'd enjoy with sense and alot I'd hate. Let's just see what rolls out. I'm more worried about the trackball and FM transmitter than the silly Sense to be honest.
     
  15. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    Sense is overrated, IMO; it's nice, but stock Android 2.1 isn't that bad. I find many home replacements much more elegant than Sense anyway, and as someone's pointed out: slap Sense on your N1 and you'll suddenly find yourself weeks or months behind when an OTA update comes out. No thanks.
     
  16. adamlovesu

    adamlovesu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    i like sense but i like stock better.

    and no only devices straight from htc run sense stock.
     
  17. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    someone on XDA will eventually release a ROM for the Nexus that includes Sense...
     
  18. photon00

    photon00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm surprised more people don't see this as a big factor when comparing the N1 and the Desire. When sense came out on the Hero a lot of people were impressed. However most people now would take a hero with stock 2.1 rather than sense on 1.5. For me the big draw of the N1 over the Desire will be acquiring the latest OS updates. I'll be interested to see how the Desire keeps up on that front.
     
  19. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Agree, having come from a Hero, I would much prefer regular updates especially now that vanilla Android is quite improved from a look and feel perspective.
     
  20. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    my friend has Berenice running the sense ui for a couple days now on his rooted Droid. I see no reason why we can't run it too...
     
  21. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    is he running this latest Sense or ??
     
  22. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    how about just a reliable 3G signal instead?
     
  23. saquib

    saquib Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
  24. 1080p

    1080p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    59
    It was necessary with the G1 to root and add Sense or Cyanogenmod because the earlier versions of Android were butt ugly. But 2.1 is gorgeous and silky smooth. With 5 home screens... I can't ask for more. I don't need to alter my phone.
     
  25. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    I just tried to install it several times. looks like it no likey 2.1 :/
     

Share This Page

Loading...