Wimax


Last Updated:

  1. Captain Sexy

    Captain Sexy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    22
    I tried to use Wimax for the first time today. I was able to get one web page to load and then it failed. Am I doing something wrong here?

    ON a similar note can sombody tell me how to teather so I can share the internet with with my laptop?

    Thanks,
     

    Advertisement
  2. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    1.) What webpage, are you connected to WiMax.

    2.) Pay Sprint $30/mo or Root.
     
  3. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    Do I really answer a guy whose name is Captain sexy? lol
     
  4. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you don't need Wifi Tether you can download PDANET from the market. It only works over USB and doesn't require root?
     
  5. Captain Sexy

    Captain Sexy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    22
    Of course you answer a guy named captain sexy.

    Phone is not rooted. Honestly I don't fully even understand that.

    I don't want to pay sprint $30 a month but I thought it would work with one device without it? For that matter it seemed to work ok with the one page just nothing more. Same thing on two different laptops.

    I would like to wifi teather it. Can't I use bluetooth to teather? For that matter without wimax how to do you teather?
     
  6. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    wimax has nothing to do with teather. you can teather via a 3G or 4G connection. But as they stated above, in order to teather you need to choose one of the following: 1) pay sprint 30bucks a month to teather 8 devices via wifi 2) root 3) USB teather with PDANet available in the market.

    I would love to have wifi teather, debating on the 30 bucks though. (wouldnt that show off your EVO like no other?) I have used PDANet to USB teather and it works great.
     
  7. Captain Sexy

    Captain Sexy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok I follow what your saying, bare with me though I'm not the most tech savy. I thought you could usb teather by doing somthing with the settings and you didn't need an app or any additonal services? Don't blackberrys have that ability?

    What I'm trying to do is have wi fi access for my worklap top that has sercurity out the ass in situations where I have no other wi fi access.
     
  8. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876

    im no expert myself. but i do know that you can teather wheather youre in a 4G(wimax) or 3G zone. As far as teathering your laptop to/from your EVO, If you want to do it via wifi (make your EVO a wireless hotspot) you need to root/hack your phone or pay sprint 30 bucks for the option. If you want to teather your EVO to your laptop with a USB cord, you can download PDANet from the market and do it for free.

    (there have been some that say they can teather with a USB cord without using PDANet, but from what i gather most cant and thats why they use PDANet)
     
  9. Captain Sexy

    Captain Sexy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    22
    I understand what you saying, the problem comes in that I can not download anything to my work laptop. So that rules out PDA net. I'm far to cheap to pay sprint 30 bucks for somthing I'll use 4 times a month. There has got to be some easy way to teather it? How come I can't teather via blutooth?
     
  10. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    I dont know enough to answer you about bluetooth, sorry.

    i see, yea, you need to have PDANet on the computer and phone (i believe). hopefully someone comes on that can tell you how to teather without an App. But, i know most cannot, myself included. good luck.
     
  11. taiguy

    taiguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    i think you answered your own question. can't install software for usb tethering. don't want to pay sprint 30/mo for hot spot.

    you gotta root your phone. search the forums.
     
  12. Taek

    Taek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    when you install pdanet on your android device, it will download the pc/mac program to your phone, and can then install it on to your laptop after you connect the phone to the laptop using the usb cable and transferring it to the pc/mac. if you mean that you are not allowed to install additional apps on to your laptop then yes, paying 30$/month is the only option
     
  13. mpike78

    mpike78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    just want to say one thing TETHER not TEATHER
     
    Cache22, The Dorian and ekt8750 like this.
  14. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    i'm currently tethering the evo with the usb cable. i had to move htc sync from the evo to the computer, install it on the computer, sync up once, then when i connect the phone, i get the option to "share interent with computer". click that, click done and off i go. seems i have to be in 4g for it to work.

    i do get an an occassional error 67 when i do something on the phone while connected to my pc. i just dismiss it.

    i'm a bit worried that in the future, sprint will disable this ability.

    if and when that happens, i'll give pdanet a whirl
     
  15. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Above all else, I believe the holdup to Froyo is the $30 hotspotting issue. Froyo includes, Sprint charges, and there's the rub.

    I would not pay for it unless it is was a business-paid expense. Most companies probably would cover since they already cover paid wifi when traveling. I'm sure they'd prefer people use their own non-open data connection anyway.

    This feature was DOA though with the pricing - $30/mo would be an additional 25% on my plan that I could never justify since I can't use it regularly at home. I'd bet 99% of Sprint's customers are in a similar situation.

    I still think the best compromise would just be a $1/day fee for unlimited use. Again, too much foot-dragging will simply mean workarounds that steal away the customers Sprint wants who would consider paying for this. In addition, once Froyo comes, I expect the number of people who root to go up dramatically as disabling Sense will not have the same impact. Enough time will have passed that people will begin dropping TEP (and that profitable monthly charge) too so it's in Sprint's best interest to cooperate with Froyo and Gingerbread.

    I don't expect Gingerbread until next summer though. It's much more than an upgrade and will require time that I doubt Sprint/HTC will have as a top priority. GB will change the game as I think people will root for it in such large numbers leaving HTC or Sprint as the obstacle to upgrades being an irrelevant footnote.
     
  16. tphone

    tphone Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you search the MOMENT forums, there are posts about a free program called 'Azilink'. So, google 'AZILINK'.
    If you read the threads, you will get all the information necessary to tether your EVO via USB, which I prefer because it charges the phone at the same time. It works exactly the same as on the moment. There is a program you have to install on your laptop to 'tunnel' to an unused port (in the IP meaning of port, not physical) on your phone. Then a very small script to run on your laptop when you want to tether. All the details are on the Azilink web page. It enables https for free unlike PDAnet.

    It's not that difficult to do, works perfectly, and it's totally free. The only thing that I discovered while using Azilink on my EVO is that you must be in Sync or Disk Drive mode (I use sync mode and do not have HTC sync installed on my laptop), not charge only. And on windows 7, you have to run the script as administrator.
     
  17. t1jordan

    t1jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    22
    I know rite. That was funny!
     

Share This Page

Loading...