Wiping All Personal Data (iPhone)


Last Updated:

  1. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    369
    I know this isn't android, but I moved over the the big green robot and found a buyer for the iPhone 4. Was hoping this could stay here at least until I get an answer.

    I am on iOS 4.0 and the buyer wants it that way, As you know, Apple is no longer signing this firmware so I cannot just do a clean restore. I want to remove personal data (cleared the address book and mail manually). There are some remnants, such as the appstore that still has my personal data. It requires a password to get anywhere, but my email is still there. Not a huge deal, but ideally I would like to reset it so that the new buyer can manage it himself. Any help would be great!
     

    Advertisement
  2. marefin

    marefin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    31
    Can't you do a factory reset from the Settings menu?
     
  3. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    369
    I guess there was an erase all content and settings option. All I had to do was look! LOL

    Thanks!!!
     
  4. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    369
    Hmmm... well now the phone is booting to the Apple logo and just hangs there :/
     
  5. souphtc

    souphtc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    From that point you have to connect it to itunes then the screen should come up.
     
  6. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    369
    Right, but it is looking like I need to do a full restore, which was exactly what I was trying to avoid since I can't keep it on 4.0 this way... :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...