Wired tether and XP SP2 with droid


Last Updated:

  1. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    wireless tether works with NexBeast 1.1 and wired tether works on my work laptop, but it will nto connect on my new little netbook. any suggestions on what to try. I have reinstalled the moto drivers a few times, any other suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Jeff, you using the Moto Drivers version 4.6?
     
  3. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    no 4.2 need to update. got the driver working now the phone locks up and reboots.

    I will install 4.6 got a link?
     
  4. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    found it !!!
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Keep us posted - also, what sort of AV software are you running, and firewall, 'cause it could be one of those is interfering with the process for some odd reason....
     
  6. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    Moto 4.6 installed still causes droid to reboot after the drivers are installed. not sure why I am having issues with wired tether. same NexBeast worked on Thursday with my work laptop. might be the dell a90.

    wireless is working good, buyt wired would be nice too..
     
  7. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    AVG FREE and OEM firewall.

    since wireless works with XP, I should be good, plan for the netbook is Win 7

    need the XP install for my car tuning software.

    just waiting for my new SSD for the netbook
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Kewl. I run Win 7 on all my machines, refuse to use XP anymore. Sorry that your Car tuning software forces you to use XP - have you tried Compatibility modes in Windows 7? For example, even if you have XP SP2 installed, sometimes you need to set the compatibility to just XP (no SP listed) to make it work....

    SSDs rock - I bought the Intel X25-M 80 GB for my desktop - apps fly, my reboot time (not boot from cold start - reboot from inside the OS) has shaved 20+ seconds off the time, and Now I get to use both of my 500GB Barracudas as storage....

    Life's good....
     
  9. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    niot sure I tried it. I know it will not install on win 7.

    Once I get the SSD ( current is an 8gig) I can try. I am camping this weekend and the only way to connect is this little laptop and my droid
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hmmm, if it will not install on Win 7 - must either have a driver that it uses to control the tuning, or else something else that is really weird....

    Ah, well. Win 7 comes with the XP Mode feature, but I am not sure that will be easy to use on a netbook.
     
  11. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    yeah that might work and I will try it. The tuning software I can upgrade but then I lose functionality, right now I can do multiple cars, newer is one car only.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Ahhh - now it makes more sense.

    Another thing to think about is that you can actually run the installer itself with XP compatibility to get the app installed....
     
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Lol, *I* certainly didn't b/c I haven't used XP in ... OK, I use it at work when fixing the professor's machines, but that is not really "using" it - so I haven't used it myself in ... about 5 years now.

    Makes perfect sense that remote NDIS is not included with XP - hell, nothing was included with XP except XP....
     
  15. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    Yes I did, but I don't have an account for that link. I found the RDIS drivers in a post on xda-dev. after I installed those is when the phone would just reboot. It seemed to install everything correctly on the XP side. not sure what else to try. The phone looked as into work but froze and rebooted.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    If you used Remote NDIS based Internet Sharing Device Driver - xda-developers for the link to the drivers....

    1. - meaning it was there 1 year before the DROID came out...
    2. the instructions refer to
      - which our phones cannot do.

    My guess is that those drivers simply will not work for our DROIDs....

    The rNDIS drivers should work with XP and then you should be set with a normal DROID install.
     
  17. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Attached are the Remote NDIS based Internet Sharing Device drivers from my link. Try them ... they worked for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hmm, based upon the CRC comparison of the files in the .ZIP archive that you just linked and the ones from XDA, they're identical.

    He just needs to not install the Phone files that the XDA post references and then he'll be fine.
     
  19. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    Downloaded the drivers for Messenger's link. will try later today
     
  20. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    which phone files do I not need? Tried the Zip drivers from Messenger.. finishes installing the drivers on XP while Wired Tether is running and then boom, reboot on Droid..
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    That files that Joe posted should be all that you need, in addition to the Motorola USB drivers for XP also.

    You should not have to install anything on the DROID, in terms of drivers.
     
  22. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling that .apk on your DROID?
    Maybe one of us should post it so you can try a different .apk file.
     
  23. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    have not done that but it works on/with my work laptop
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    When you connect the DROID to the netbook, does XP send a popup complaining about the SDCard needs to be checked for consistency errors when mounting?
     
  25. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    No, have not seen that yet
     

Share This Page

Loading...