Wired tethering and "Error 67"


Last Updated:

  1. The Dorian

    The Dorian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    So usb tethering is supposed to be free, right? I'm getting the "Error 67" message while trying to do so. I know I've seen others with the same error but I haven't seen a solution. Anyone know the answer?
     

    Advertisement
  2. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    Are you using PDAnet
     
    The Dorian likes this.
  3. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    the answer: PDANET
     
    The Dorian likes this.
  4. blkwrxwag

    blkwrxwag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    You need to use PDANET or Easy Tether.
     
    The Dorian likes this.
  5. The Dorian

    The Dorian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ok, will do. But is there a reason it doesn't work stock?
     
  6. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    When i tried Stock i couldnt even get my PC to recognize my phone as a modem...PDA Net makes it WAYYYY Simpler
     
  7. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    It doesn't work stock. Sprint disables it unless you pay for the Hotspot.
     
  8. ep3n3wp

    ep3n3wp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    15
    If they disable it how come in the user manual on page 135 do they have a section telling you how to use your device as a modem (internet sharing) with all the steps telling you to install htc sync?
    Weird that they tell you how to do it
     
  9. Braaainz

    Braaainz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    85
    That's because its HTC's manual not Sprints.
     
  10. gelatinguy

    gelatinguy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    When using stock internet sharing, I only get that error with 3G. With 4G it doesn't give the error and tethering works without any 3rd party apps. Of course, most of us don't have consistent 4G, so use PDAnet or EasyTether if you use 3G.
     
  11. ep3n3wp

    ep3n3wp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    15
    Never mind what I said lol
    Just tried with no success
    Damn you sprint you at least give us wired tether free
     
  12. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    I thought PDAnet was a paid service - is it free?
     
  13. drksilenc

    drksilenc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    68
    u can use it for non https sites for free. you pay 30 for the full version.
    on the other hand easy tether is only 10 dollars and works the same
     
  14. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    key is to turn on 4g before you plug in.

    if you are in a non 4g market, i would at least try to turn on the 4g widget to see what happens when you tether.

    but i would suspect you would still get the error as i still get it if my 4g drops off for a minute.
     
  15. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    I access my email through Exchange Server which resides on an HTTPS site. Does that mean that I will need the paid version to access my mail?


     
  16. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Hmmm possibly but seeing as it is free the best thing would be to download and test.
     
  17. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    Uhhh... Good idea:eek:
     
  18. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    I did give it a test run and I am able to login to, and check email. I can also access our company website which is https, so I'm not sure what to make of the https access being restricted to the pay version.

    Hmmm...
     
  19. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    you are in preview mode which allows everything to wrok, after a set time (two weeks?) it says it locks out sights that require security.
     
  20. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    64
    As mentioned above and in the app description, you are in trial mode. It will only last for something like 2 weeks, and then it will disable https.
     
  21. fonseca898

    fonseca898 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was getting error code 67 when trying to use the built in "internet sharing" option, but after re-installing HTC's software it works every time with no error code. I'm also using 4g, but AFAIK it functions on 3g too.

    I still prefer BT tether via PdaNet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...