Wireless open network with password


Last Updated:

  1. Knaerten

    Knaerten Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.

    I recieved my HTC Desire 3 days ago, and I really like it, but I have 1 problem.

    Where I work we got a open wireless network with password protection when you open your web browser. I got no problems connecting to the network, but I dont get the pop-up box where I have to write in the password. Tried with the built in browser and opera mini, but neither of em work.

    Anyone else got a problem like that, or any idea how I can get this working?
     

    Advertisement
  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Go to settings/wireless & networks/wifi settings & press add network, select your network & that will enable you to enter a password there
     
  3. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    do you need to use a proxy server?

    and this is the wrong forum, will a mod please move it?
     
  4. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    you shouldn't do the proxy server is normally set in the router
     
  5. Knaerten

    Knaerten Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx for your replies.

    I might have posted this in the wrong forum, and i have created a new one in a more appropriet place. Deeply sorry.

    I kinda wrote my question badly aswell.
    Its not a secure network, thats the problem. Its a no security open network, but when you open your browser it should redirect you to a login page, but it wont show the redirection page. It dosnt redirect me, and when i go to the site manualy it dosnt show.

    The mods can close this thread, since i have created it in the wrong place. Again, sorry about that. Anyway, thanx for atleast trying :)
     
  6. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72

    I meant a proxy address, there's no support for proxy on wifi (very poor, Google), but there is for mobile. I had a similar issue at work, but they eventually removed the need (yay for the uni, and i dont often say that!!")
     
  7. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Again that would be taken care of by the router, but for the mobile internet side i think you will find its dictated by your service provider.
     
  8. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72

    You are correct, but some employer's networks require proxy settings for wifi, which are not supported in Android. Hence, you can connect to the network, but not use it in any substantive way. It is an ongoing problem for many, especially those working in institutions like UK universities, the majority of which require proxy settings.
     
  9. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Looks like this is something that needs to be addressed either in the market place or by google with a rom update
     
  10. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72

    Yup, it is on the list at google, but has a very low priority. I was originally hoping it would appear in 2.2, but then the uni decided to remove the proxy requirement from their wireless network (a couple of us had brought it up as an issue, but it just happened one day, no notice, no reason; either way, I am happy!) Nevertheless, I was extremely annoyed that there was no support, as it was not a question that entered my head.:eek:
     
  11. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Hopefully one of the devs will come up with a solution quicker, this needs to be higher priority than google are giving it.
     
  12. Knaerten

    Knaerten Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basicly what you are saying is that this wont work untill google gets their finger out of their asses and fixes proxy settings?
     

Share This Page

Loading...