Wireless Tether Broken After Update


Last Updated:

  1. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is anyone else having problems with Wireless Tether after the D2 OTA Update? I had Root and Wireless Tether working on my mom's phone, but after she accepted a Verizon update on Saturday, her Wireless Tether no longer works. Does anyone have any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    I'd uninstall and try again. If that doesn't work I don't know. Perhaps try barnacle wifi.
     
  3. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, I tried uninstalling - cleared SU permissions - reinstalled... still no go.

    I'm more curious to find out if anyone else is having this issue. My first thought was that Verizon did something in their Update to intentionally break tether. Since they are now charging for this feature on D2, it seems that they are spending more and more effort to lock out our free access.
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I'm posting this via wifi tether on the most recent 2.2.20.a955 release....works fine. Don't use it very much, but so nice not to have to pay VZW for it when I do... :)
     
  5. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    I have the latest OTA rooted with WiFi Tether and no problems. So it's def. something with your configuration. I know I've had a few other problems with my Droid 2 and have done a few factory resets to resolve different issues.
     
  6. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hmmm... thanks. I'll play around with it and see if I can get it figured out.
     
  7. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
  8. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    I can't get wireless tether to work either.

    It says tethering and I have 3g activated but when I look for a network with another device it does not recognize it.
     
  9. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think your issue might be different. I had it working, and then installed the 2.2.20.a955 update. After the update was installed, the app was giving an error... I believe because the update killed root.

    I'm not sure that you can tether to another Droid... if that's what you're trying to do (I could be wrong). Have you tried seaching for the network with a laptop?
     
  10. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761

    No I am using a Zune HD which connects to the internet - it's picking up all the other networks in my office building.

    With 3g on I usually have very good speed - however the signal on Wireless Tether running on my incredible right now is .4 kb down and .1 kb up which is awful and may be why I am not picking anything up.

    I don't understand why the connection is so poor when my 3g connection when Wireless Tether is off is fantastic.


    I am using 2_0_2.apk with fw_bcm4329.bin in a folder on SD Card like JonAmerica.com told us to do.
     
  11. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    I thought I read about issues with people trying to tether to iPods also... something about it being P2P, but that's over my head. Maybe someone else can chime in.
     
  12. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761

    I got it working thanks.

    I was advised to change the folder from android.tether to a different name (where the .APK and .BIN is) and also downloaded 2_0_5 pre9.apk to replace old 2_0_2.apk
     

Share This Page

Loading...