Wireless Tether with AP and WPA in HTC Froyo


Last Updated:

  1. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231

    Advertisement
    mozetti, Argent, tek85 and 4 others like this.
  2. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    works for me
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    I love it. Posting this via AP wireless tether. :)
     
  4. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    More info on this: You do not need to have the fw_bcm4329.bin file on sdcard any longer. It will use the ROM's bcm4329 module (verified on leaked Inc 2.2 #2 and Evo Port #3 from Adrynalyne)
     
  5. hodedofome

    hodedofome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    8
    Working for me as well. You should change the title of your thread to ***Working*** Wireless Tether for Froyo or something like that:)

    Speed seems to be the same in 4g on my phone as well as the laptop. Also, I'm still running the pre-release Froyo rom, still haven't updated from .3 to .6 yet.
     
  6. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    Good idea - done.

    *Edit* Nevermind I can't change the title of the thread.
     
  7. terpsarlington

    terpsarlington Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought AP-mode requires the option "CONFIG_BCM4329_SOFTAP" compiled into the kernel and since we do not have the source code for 2.2 we are not able to do this?

    Does this work with skyraider 2.0.1?
     
  8. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    Can anyone confirm that the camera and video recorder are still working? On the first tether apk for froyo it killed my camera. Thanks :)
     
  9. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    Apparently the HTC roms/kernels have that compiled into it.

    Can't answer to skyraider - I've not run it.
     
  10. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    Both are working for me.
     
    Bug Splat likes this.
  11. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    Awesome! thanks, I'll give it a try now.
     
  12. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    Works great! Thanks again ;)
     
  13. danielevans83

    danielevans83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I turn on my wireless tether, other devices never seen the network. I try manually entering the SSID/key but it never connects. The 3G Mobile Hotspot works great, but I imagine Verizon is going to add the $30/month automatically to my bill for even testing it...
     
  14. Emoney53

    Emoney53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    16
    works great with skyraider! just tested it out its faster than i thought and being able to use wpa2 is great! again confirmed working with latest version of skyraider.
     
  15. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    Which rom are you running? Can you open the log file (menu - show log) when tethering is running and post what you have there.

    Here is a screenshot of mine:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. rynocs

    rynocs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i use the tether my browser keeps directing me to a verizon page. I have the 29.99 data plan, am i doing something wrong?
     
  17. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    It would appear that you are using the 3G Mobile Hotspot app.
     
  18. rynocs

    rynocs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, maybe i am confused are you guys using a rooted app to do a tether and use the phone for internet access? I upgraded to the froyo release.
     
  19. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    We are using a rooted app for the wireless tether. See the link in my first post for the app.
     
    rynocs likes this.
  20. rynocs

    rynocs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, im going to start over lol thanks for the help!
     
  21. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    No problem.
     
  22. chocobodroid

    chocobodroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked for me. I setup my Linksys DD-WRT as a client to the AP for tethering and I have internet on my desktop now with WPA2 ! :)
     
  23. welbinator

    welbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    44
    are you using the first wireless tether that came with the root? what do you mean by "other devices"? the first wireless tether app was an ad hoc network so other phones won't see it, but computers will see it.
     
  24. beagle804

    beagle804 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I download the APK from the first post and copied it to my sdcard. I then used Astro on my Dinc to try to install the file as I have done on numerous other APK files. But on this, I get to the App Manager and there are buttons to Uninstall and Launch. No way to install the file. If I try to Uninstall, it fails.

    What am I doing wrong?

    BTW - I'm on Adrynealyne's Tweacked Froyo...
     
  25. Lefort1

    Lefort1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    26
    Wow, I don't think this would've changed anything, but I got speeds of ~2.0-2.2mbs d/l. I ran the test 3x to be sure, nice!
     

Share This Page

Loading...