Wireless tether


Last Updated:

  1. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted and downloaded app can not get to connect to laptop please help. Do I need to turn the wifi on my SF too?
     

    Advertisement
  2. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    No, you don't need to toggle the phone's WiFi.
     
  3. bcnu53

    bcnu53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    does your computer show your SF as an option to connect to? or will it just not connect?
     
  4. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will not show the SF at all! Any body had this problem?
     
  5. bcnu53

    bcnu53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I download that to my phone? Do I need to download to computer first?
     
  7. bcnu53

    bcnu53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    well what I did was download it to my computer. then connect the phone and copy from computer to phone. then to my files on phone and ran (install) it
    there may be an easier way? maybe you can just go to the link from your phone and do it all from there? I am not sure.
     
    jmckins likes this.
  8. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you get to your files on the phone?
     
  9. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK got it and it works!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  10. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    turn on usb storage from your pulldown menu and mount sdcard to your comp
     
  11. bcnu53

    bcnu53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    glad you got it working. first time I was able to help someone.
     
    jmckins likes this.
  12. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got wireless tether working and my computer is picking it up but when I click on internet explorer it will not connect. Help please
     
  13. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Try Barnacle instead? Or maybe someone else can walk you through the tether app, I haven't used it in a while
     
  14. nunyazz

    nunyazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    90
    +1 for Barnacle. I had issues with some of the others, but Barnacle works like a charm for me.
     
  15. jmckins

    jmckins Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it Barnacle WIFI tether or Barnacle WIFI Legacy?
     
  16. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    i use the first
     
  17. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    i use the power of positive thinking to tether. it works very well. :cool:
     
  18. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    sure there is open a browser on your phone and download it straight to the phone
     
  19. seanatsb

    seanatsb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    25
    I had this problem and it was because my wireless drivers on the computer were not up to date, even though the computer was less than a year old.

    If you have an intel chip, go to this site and it will run diagnostics on your computer and tell you if you need to update your drivers, and it will provide you with the proper updates.
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchResult.aspx?
    Click on Run Driver Utility Update

    If this doesn't work or your computer doesn't have an intel chipset, here's a link with other people discussing wireless driver problems with Wifi tether.
    Issue 244 - android-wifi-tether - Windows 7 wont connect - Project Hosting on Google Code


     
    .cage likes this.
  20. s44

    s44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    37
    I hate to say it, but the service programming hack is the most elegant and hassle-free solution.
     
  21. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ah, Windows :)
     
  22. Bob-o

    Bob-o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have barnacle installed now that I'm rooted. Will verizon charge me for being a 3g hotspot? I have the 3g moble hotspot froze in ti backup. A coworker with an iphone can't get signal so I figured I could help him out....for a small fee of course. :D. Jk he is a good friend and I wanna help him out. Just making sure verizon won't charge me.
     
  23. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    verizon wont charge you for using a 3rd party app unless you walk into the store and tell them you are tethering ;)
     
  24. Bob-o

    Bob-o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    12
    Sweet! Not like imma snitch on my self! lol
     
  25. nightelvesreasy

    nightelvesreasy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    19
    ive been tethering with my droid for the last 5 months ive been without internet, have yet to be caught, and as long as you keep your data usage "under the radar" they wont even bother to packet sniff your phone to see if your tethering, i generally keep my data usage under 20 gigs a month
     

Share This Page

Loading...