With any luck....General


Last Updated:

  1. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Will be getting my 2 Dell Streaks tomorrow!! FINALLY!!

    I went through such pain and anguish to get these! I am in USA, FYI.

    I need to do a demo to Dell on Friday actually, so I really wanted these!! :D :D

    Anyways, I could not get unlocked ones but I got two from O2 and overnighted to me here in USA [I think].

    They say "sim free 16GB pre text web" but I have no clue what that means other than pre-pay text/web plan. Neither did the O2 person I was talking to earlier. So maybe by some stroke of luck they will show up UNLOCKED!!

    The O2 person told me they will NOT give out unlock codes for Dell Streak (even if I had a really good reason). They treated me like crap, and if they are indeed locked, I think I may end up returning these to O2 in a week or so - I will gladly take my money back. :) Then get some unlocked from Dell if I can't unlock these soon enough.

    Anyways, will share some unboxing pics tomorrow if they show up!
     

    Advertisement
  2. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    42
    U are in Austin, aren't there allot of Beta Bricks in every trashcan? Why would you buy from the UK :confused:
     
  3. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Crap, well tell a brotha where to look! :( I know I live in Dell's backyard but I didn't know how to get locally. Is there some underground I need to know about? :cool: #31337
     
  4. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Anyone know where to get a Rebel Sim here in US?
     
  5. kcs7272

    kcs7272 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    536
    You don't need one. If it is from the UK and unlocked you are good to go just put in your sim. I just got mine from Ebay today a UK unlocked and my T-Mobile sim works fine. Although I was not that happy with it so I just sold it on Ebay an hour ago for $100 more than I paid.
     
  6. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    42
    There was a beta release w/college students in Austin that had 1000 streaks back in May or June. Allot of them ended up on Craig's List or eBay. Then about a week ago, At&t locked them all out, I think they are still locked out. Suppose to become unlocked when the At&t release happens.

    Right now there should be some cheap, I would think there might be some locally for you or maybe they are still trying to sell them to someone who has no clue they are blocked out of the At&t network, aka "The Austin Bricks".
     
  7. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Oh OK, yes, I did hear about the Beta program whereby hundreds of Dell Streaks suddenly stopped working. It wasn't clear if they were bricks or if they just lost AT&T service. I know someone posted on here or another forum and they had talked to AT&T and Dell and they were told they were not entitled to getting it unlocked or re-activated and that it was a Beta program which has since ended, so they were basically SOL.

    Regardless, I will just be happy to get this in my hands, even if in a week or so I will need to re-evaluate my broader Dell Streak service needs. :)
     
  8. cellio908

    cellio908 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in Vegas and I have had my streak for about two weeks. I know it's an American version, but aside from that I'm not sure if it was a Beta unit or not. Everything is working great with my At&t 3G sim. As for your o2 Streaks, I've been following people on other forums who have no luck with getting an unlock. Since o2 has exclusivity over there they will not release or unlock any phones until that changes. So your best bet is rebel sim and even that is giving some problems. It's all over Ebay for about $7. Good Luck.
     
  9. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yeah but no time to order/ship/get a RebelSim (only from UK). :( If I had got authorization to buy these sooner I would have made better arrangements but it's all I could get given the short notice. Tracking number says they will be here tomorrow finally. :)
     
  10. Streetman

    Streetman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you get 3G on Tmobile? I've got friends in the UK who could send one (multiple?) over if I can make $100 off each.
     
  11. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Delayed!! Oh no!!

    :(



    Date
    Time Location Tracking Event [​IMG]
    10-08-2010 21:56 STN Delay caused beyond our control
    10-08-2010 19:30 STN Arrived in destination country
    10-08-2010 18:34 STN On route to delivery depot
    10-08-2010 16:44 STN Left origin country
    10-08-2010 16:42 STN Export item accepted into network
    09-08-2010 14:47 Stoke Depot Collected from customer
    07-08-2010 10:43 WDM Online
     

Share This Page

Loading...