1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Wonder why Angry Birds isn't working?General


Last Updated:

  1. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Last week Rovio released a beta version of their world wide popular game Angry Birds on Android (Grab the Angry Birds LauncherPro icons). Apart from a few issues regarding different handsets, the release was a great success. The highly addictive game runs very smoothly, and the 15 levels included were extremely enjoyable with a couple of them being quite challenging.

    If like me, you have obtained three stars on all of the 15 levels you will be thinking to yourself
     

    Advertisement
  2. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    i have it on my phone and it works just fine!
     
  3. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Some Eris users couldn't get it to work. Dunno what screen the Eris has but WVGA isn't supported yet.
     
  4. Rota

    Rota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    68
    I wasn't able to even see the app on the market on my girlfriend's Eris. Anyone else having that issue?
     
  5. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Find the .apk for it. Just install it using Astro.
     
  6. Nabraham

    Nabraham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    27

    Did that, then when using Astro i get some error about not enough memory. I freed up an additional 30mb of space and still getting the same error.
     
  7. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    4
    I get the same error...and have deleted about 15 apps to try and make it work, and still doesn't go through
     
  8. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Well, maybe you guys should get an iOS device.
     
  9. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    4
    Don't want an iOS device...like my Eris
     
    lambo172 likes this.
  10. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Then, you're SOL. I'm running it on both an iOS device and Droid without issue. Maybe a future release will fix compatibility issues. They have it running on a Hero, although with some lag.
     
  11. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    no need for an ios device. just root, go with 2.2, install it to your SD and enjoy!
     
  12. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    The Eris is WVGA. Which is probably why some people are reporting issues with it. I can't get it to start on my phone either.
     
  13. SyDTRaKKeD

    SyDTRaKKeD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    23
    it works great on my eris... its just not optimized for our screen size...
     
  14. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    can't find it
     
  15. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    It works for me.
     
  16. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    882
    I'm running it on xtrROM 4.2 with no problem. When I tried it on xtrROM 4.5 it was lagging a bit.
     
  17. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    WVGA is 'Wide' VGA 800x480.
    The Eris is HVGA or 'Half' VGA 480x320.

    Angry birds works just fine on my Eris.
     
  18. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    13
    According to Rovio's website "Angry Birds Lite Beta will run on second generation Android devices and upwards."

    The Eris is considered a first generation android device due to the lower end specs. So if you are lucky enough to get it to work good for you! :) Otherwise you might be SOL (keep in mind though it is still in beta and you never know what might happen).
     
  19. mhseris

    mhseris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Found it in the marketplace, downloaded/installed uneventfully, runs fine. Very addictive! (I first tried downloading the .apk and using a file manager to install; kept getting the "out of space" error. Then went to the marketplace on spec, and there it was.)
     
  20. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    4
    What marketplace did you find it in? What is the "marketplace on spec" you mention?

    Thanks!
     
  21. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Dem H's and double-yas lookin' so similar.
     
  22. mhseris

    mhseris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    The Android Marketplace. Just looked again tonight - searched for "angry bird" and there it was.

    "Went to the marketplace on spec" just means I didn't really expect to find it, went there (the Android Marketplace again) on the chance that it would be there.
     
  23. da man

    da man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    22
    If you can't get it to install on your Eris, try another ROM. I couldn't get it to work on mine, then I changed ROM's the other day. Yesterday I decided to just try again and it worked. Played it for like three hours straight.
     
  24. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    882
    Addictive little bugger isn't it! :)

    It does definitely play better on some ROMs than on others. I personally haven't hit one that it doesn't play on, but I have no problem believing that there are some.
     
  25. da man

    da man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    22
    It sure is addictive. Wish the full version was available somewhere, could probably waste a whole week of my life with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...