Wont mount as drive over USB


Last Updated:

  1. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Tried connecting my phone via USB for the first time last night. Upon connection Windows popped up an "installing driver" bubble, as it often does with new USB pendrives, and said this was successful. The phone popped up asking how I wanted to connect so I chose the option to mount as a drive.

    At this point Windows did nothing for a while then, eventually, the removable disk appeared but I couldn't access it. Whenever I tried to open it, it'd try to scan it for 5-10 seconds then give up and ask me to format it.

    What on earth is going on? Anyone got any ideas/tips?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    Couple of ideas:

    (a) do you have any anti-virus software set to scan USB/external devices on plug-in? My AVG does that and I sometimes find it makes the phone not accessible for twenty seconds or so.

    (b) have you tried another USB port? My PC has two ports on the front that are wired directly to the motherboard and four on the back in a PCI expansion slot. I have trouble mounting phones (Nokia, Blackberry and now Android) if I use the back ports but no problem at all if I use the front ones.
     
  3. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the reply. Just tried it at work and it's fine so not the phone - will have another go on the home machine tonight.
     
  4. mikeyc_123

    mikeyc_123 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I am having the same problem with my HTC Desire. BUT.. it will not work on other usb ports on the laptop. I have tried changing the settings from sync to disk drive etc but still nothing. Did you solve your problem?

    Cheers


    Mike
     
  5. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    41
    My problem is slightly different. I seem to have it mounted as a removable disk (G:) but only the internal memory and not the SD card. I'd like to be able to get into the card frpm my PC without having to pop the bacl off. Is this possible? Am I doing anything wrong? (Vista)
     
  6. zackarydoo

    zackarydoo Guest

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you aware that the SD card is actually displayed as a directory off the mounted drive? It's either DCIM or DCMI, something like that, in capitals. You'll see 2 or 3 sub-directories in there, one being your SD card contents. Hope that helps.

    I'm having own problems mounting the phone as a drive by the way. Sometimes it works, others not.
     
    Markg likes this.
  7. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ahh, no I didn't know that. My years of Nokia made me look for 'mass memory' or 'SD Card' or something. Thanks. Sorry I can't help you.
     
  8. mikeyc_123

    mikeyc_123 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry - I should have posted the fix I found a while ago. For some reason when I rebooted the phone it worked fine. I think i was using a task killer that managed to cause some issues. As soon as I rebooted the phone and then plugged the cable back in I had the usual message asking me the connection type. Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...