Won't Root By Any Means


Last Updated:

  1. TheGrease

    TheGrease New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried both methods:

    Hold Up/Down keys on the Captivate and Power button until At&t screen shows up, then continue holding down Up/Down keys and release Power button.

    No dice.

    I've tried multiple times, but still no luck. The update.zip file (Unleash The Beast) is placed properly, so I'm not sure what the problem is.

    I have also tried installing SDK and then using the command prompt to enter "abd reboot recovery".

    No dice.

    Command prompt does tell me that I am not connected when I input "abd devices" but the Captivate is mounted and I can access the internal sd card.

    I'm not sure what the problem is, but I'll lose my head if I have to stare at 20+ useless at&t bloatware apps for much longer. It is an amazing phone, my first ever smart phone, but I'm sad to say that I am getting a bit discouraged reading countless "rooted with No Problem first time!" :(

    Any suggestions to fix this problem are very much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    search the market for ryansza run this app. in its options are root. Give it a whirl.
     
  3. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    have you tried to make sure usb is set to debugging, that may help with the booting into recovery issue
     
  4. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    Have you even loaded the usb drivers for the phone? Get the one click root from here.

    Load the usb drivers if you haven't
    Then go here
    MENU > Settings > Applications > Developement > USB debugging = Checked
    You can then go back to the home screen
    Run one click root program click root and the phone will root. No need for any buttons
     
  5. TheGrease

    TheGrease New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both the ryansza app and the "one click root" did not work.

    They installed correctly, and I'm fairly sure that the update.zip file was placed into the internal SD card, but whatever triggers the recovery mode just won't fire up.

    One thing I have noticed is that when my Captivate is connected to the computer (i've tried two different computer btw) that my internal SD and external SD cards show up as "removable disk ___" and "removable disk ____" and not with a distinct "Samsung Captivate" icon. This makes me wonder if I have the right drivers, but like I mentioned, I have no problem putting the update.zip file into the right place.

    This information might help you guys help me.
    Model number - SAMSUNG-SGH-I897
    Firmware version - 2.1-update1
    Baseband version - I897UCJF6
    Kernel version - 2.6.29
    Build number -ECLAIR

    Somethings look odd, like the fact that it says "ECLAIR" for build number. I'm hardly an expert, so I can't decipher what all of this means, but hopefully somebody can make use of it to help me finally join the Android Army.
     
  6. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok get this flash back to stock then try the one click root app. Sounds like there is something amiss with the way the sd cards are showing up.

    Go into device manager and remove any device that is related to the phone. Then install the drivers that are in that post and then flash back to stock and then see what happens after that.

    You should be able to browse the internal sd card with either the built in file manager or get astro file off the market. Use that to see if update.zip is being put on your internal card?

    Eclair is normal as that is the name of the stock rom.
     
  7. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    right eclair is just your android build they name em after deserts eclair is 2.1 next is froyo 2.2 then ginger bread etc...

    i would do what sparker is saying, then try it. Might be your best bet.
     
  8. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    I had a similar problem, someone suggested holding volume up and down and power at the same time and when the AT&T Spash screen pops up the first time keep holding all the buttons and on the second AT&T screen comes on let go of only the power button and keep holding the vol up and down buttons and you will get the recovery screen after a few seconds, workd really well for me everytime now. It was a nightmare before though, now it's easy as hell.
     
  9. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    445
    One thing to try, reflash stock.

    Turn off the phone and take out the battery, SD card and sim card. Leave it off. Download and install the usb drivers (if not already done) and the odin3 one click back to stock.

    1 - Plug the USB cable into the computer

    2 - START odin3 but do not press start.

    3 - HOLD BOTH volume buttons and, while holding them, count to 2 then plug in usb and wait 2-4 more seconds. Phone will enter download mode and Odin will recognize it on a COM. (Do not hold the top and bottom of the rocker, hold the center);

    4 - Press start in Odin. When it completes, your phone reboots

    5 - BE PATIENT!!! Your phone may now appear to stick on one of the boot screens or a blackscreen, but it is really doing stuff. Wait 5-10 minutes; but it should not take that long. This will put you back at square one. So you can try root.
     
  10. jflexe99

    jflexe99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have the Beast update/root. Worked perfectly, took 10 seconds to become unrooted.
     
  11. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15

    This phone appears to already be bone stock according to the OP. I have noticed that if you don't get the keys just right it won't work. If you release power at the wrong point it won't work. If the OP can't get to recovery screen with the buttons, Odin uses the same combo.

    Also, it supposed to appear on your computer as a removable disk even when mounted, it isn't a part of your pc, this is normal. Try powering the phone off and pull out the battery to be sure there is no power, do not plug the phone into the pc. Then hold down the vol up and down buttons and hold the power button at the same time, when the AT&T splash screen pops up keep holding the buttons, when the AT&T screen comes on the second time release only the power button and keep holding the volume buttons and within seconds you should see the recovery screen. Then once you are in the recovery screen using the volume up and down buttons to scroll the options hilight reinstall packages and then click power, the phone will do it's thing and you're done.
     
  12. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you are using Uleash the Beast you are not unrooted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...