wont turn on with different sim providerSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    ive had my xperia x10 for about 5mnths now and have since bought a different phone as its easier for work, I want to give my xperia x10 to my wife to use as its a great phone and dont want to just leave in drawer, When i insert her vodaphone sim into my orange locked xperia it wont switch on but as soon as i replace with my orange sim it works and powers up just fine,

    i know i will have to unlock with code from a website but if it dont turn on to start with then im buggered :(

    Im a little confused.com to say the least, works with mine but wont turn on with hers,

    Any ideas guys

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Hi.

    Have you tried cleaning the sim, and how old is it?
     
  3. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Sim is fine in her phone but just wont work in xperia, sim is about yr old
     
  4. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Not sure what to suggest here. What firmware is on the phone?, not sure if it matters but might be a factor here.
     
  5. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    just done an update on it and it says its on the latest
     
  6. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Which doesn't tell us anything. Mines R2BA026, what's yours?
     
  7. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    srry mate, what do i press to find out??
     
  8. CuBz

    CuBz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    230
    Try this...
    Put the vodafone sim in the Xperia, and turn it on, even if nothing shows on the screen wait for a while, sometimes this happens but it eventually comes on, I am unsure why but I have heard a few people mentioning this problem. But others are experiencing it with sim card that are unlocked on their phone. It seems to be happening with the X10, X10 Mini & Mini pro

    If that doesn't work try doing a factory reset, and if that doesn't work, re-install the software via SEUS
     
  9. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    build no r2ba020 baseband version 1.1.25 firmare version 1.6
     
  10. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Sorry - Settings - About Phone. Try what CuBz suggested.
     
  11. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the middle of resetting with seus :) will let you know soon

    Thanks
     
  12. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    I don't know if this helps or not, but...

    When I got my Xperia in the mail, it was shipped with a brand new sim card; however, the representative that sold it to me said I could use my current one as well.

    So I put my current one in, and it wouldn't work.

    I called tech support, and they told me that the X10 (and ONLY the X10) is having an issue where it will not recognize a sim card that is earlier than a certain point (ie: too old). He made me note the number on MY sim card, then made me read the number off the NEW sim card, and yeah the number on my new sim card was much higher and obviously brand new.. the number on my current one was much older.

    He told me I'd have to activate the new sim card as a result, which was no big deal. Soon as I did, the phone was golden.
     
  13. CuBz

    CuBz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    230
    Seems like there's more issues being added to the cons list everyday
     
  14. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sounds like you have hit the nail on the head, so can my wife ask her provider to send her a new updated simcard? It is only a year old tho??
     
  15. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    I was only on my last sim card for I think two years, though I could be mistaken and it might have been older.

    You could also the carrier, opt for whatever options get you through to tech support and see if they mention the problem in question with the X10 (it not reading older sim cards). Or if she doesn't mind the hassle of switching sim cards (usually nothing more than having to re-do your contacts), you might wanna give it a shot anyway on a new sim card just to see if it helps.

    Assuming said SEUS-reset doesn't fix it of course!

    I think you should be able to get another sim card in her carrier's store as well. They just shipped me one because I got the phone through retentions and I couldn't go into the store to complete the deal, they had to mail it all to me.
     
  16. CuBz

    CuBz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    230
    I had my sim for 18 months and it worked fine in my X10
     
  17. MrWomble

    MrWomble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    51
    I believe my current sim is not from my last upgrade but the one before, making it about 30 months old - may be wrong though as unsure if i changed it last upgrade 12 mths ago
     
  18. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    It may be an issue that depends on the carrier
     
  19. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    still not working even after the seaus update, switches on straight away with orange sim but nothing but blank screen with vodaphone

    Wifes sim card is only 3 mths old as she was sent out new one when hers had fault so im at my witts end
     
  20. ziggyboy

    ziggyboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    waheyyyyyy its on, dont know what i done but its on and now asking for the code to unlock which i aint purchased yet, Anyone know of a company that can do this online at a good price and is quick and realiable??? Orange want
     
  21. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Nice 1! You can have a browse of THIS thread but can't vouch for any myself.
     
  22. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Glad to hear it :) sometimes I could swear technology has a (temperamental) personality :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...