WOO hoo Tethered Sprint Hero...Now how long?


Last Updated:

  1. pedtech

    pedtech Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just tethered my Sprint Hero. Now how long do you think until Sprint Catches on that i am using it for internet??? I will be using it emergency only, but sometime when browsing at Starbucks......I did a toast.net speed test and it did 1.1 MB per sec. Not bad!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. steb0ne

    steb0ne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno, I wonder if they read the forums... Thanks for the announcement....... J/K
     
  3. heimy25

    heimy25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    What method did you use?
     
  4. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    heh.. i updated the data profile on my PRO2 today and after i did that i plugged it up to my laptop to use ICS. i use ICS all the time on the PRO2.. well after the data profile i got the dreaded error 67 so they maybe starting to break that.. be for warned... no biggie as i have WMWIFIROUTER to use but before i owuld just plug up the phone to USB and select ICS... so they are working on closing that down.. (psst.. they want us to all get on the clearwire bandwagon.... )
     
  5. knightt

    knightt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just got my Sprint Hero to tether as well, but I used this method and it was very easy. Took me less than 10 min. to get it working and that included installation of the HTC Sync drivers.

    [GUIDE] USB Tether Sprint HTC Hero CDMA! - Android Community Forums

    Does anyone know if Sprint can determine if you are tethering and charge you for it? I was able to tether on AT&T on a Blackberry without having to purchase any tethering plan and was able to get away with it with no additional charges showing up on my bill :D I am hoping it is the same with Sprint...
     
  6. heimy25

    heimy25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dang. I was hoping it would be method for the Mac
     
  7. knightt

    knightt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just answered my own question, I was monitoring my Sprint account online under Usage Details and was recording my unlimited Sprint Data. I definitely did not see any additional charges and all of my data usage thus far (I'm currently tethering) seems to be included.

    This definintely makes this phone a keeper for me as I had a 30 day trial to decide whether to keep this phone or not. Being able to tether is a big plus, I hope it doesn't go away from what I've been reading about Sprint decommissioning tethering for all their phones without a tethering plan in 2010.

    What's even great about this phone is being able to still receive text messages and emails on the phone while tethering. I couldn't do this on my Blackberry before, very nice...
     
  8. pedtech

    pedtech Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    you can. I can dual boot my mac. I use fusion 2 so i can make windows xp pop up and i rooted my phone. Then i got the newer version of the 2 free tethering apps. (5 day old one as of today) and it works great.

    Read about rooting your phone
    Back it up with nandroid.
    then load the tethering program and your set.
    VERY easy once setup
     
  9. heimy25

    heimy25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah the rooting part I understand. I am just kinda lazy to also get fusion and xp going too
     
  10. ron

    ron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have tethered for years on Sprint for free using Blackberrys and the Instinct and there is no charge.
     
  11. sprucebeach

    sprucebeach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doesn't every Starbucks have free wireless, making tethering unnecessary?
     

Share This Page

Loading...