Word prediction not in browser?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Hot Karl

    Hot Karl New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Is word prediction suppose to work everytime yo use the keyboard?

    Seems like mine only works with some of the applications. For example I do not get word prediciton when I enter text on the browser but it does work when i use the Handcent SMS application.

    Thanks,
     

    Advertisement
  2. haseltonk

    haseltonk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been wondering the same thing. It would be great if there were some way to choose which applications use the predictive text. Like google - I hate doing a web search w/o it - although my typing has improved greatly since I first got the phone.
     
  3. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    I've had occasions when it doesn't. Haven't paid enough attention to pinpoint when it does and doesn't. I'm more annoyed I can't cut and paste from the browser. Royal PITA and another knock on android being a true smartphone.
     
  4. haseltonk

    haseltonk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sidebar - Are there any apps that will add a cut/paste button to every app/page?
     
  5. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    one of my big annoyances also. I don't know what they were thinking. This can be a pain when entering long google searches. I also notice the keyboard just plain out sucks on forums when entering text. Word predication causes problems in text input boxes on sites. This is where I miss a hardware keyboard
     
  6. haseltonk

    haseltonk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I had a pearl there was a simple way to turn what they called singletap on and off so that you could be sure you were entering the right word. I can't believe that there isn't a simple key right next to the one that brings you to the number keyboard that could turn predictive text on/off...?
     
  7. Agerkvist

    Agerkvist Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let's bump this abit, I'm puzzled over this aswell. Makes no sense at all text prediction is left out some places.

    I tried installing HTC_IME mod, but it was too big for my Wildfire.

    Any alternatives?
     
  8. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    get smart keyboard (pro), it has the option to predict in browsers. On a side note, welcome to the Sprint HTC Hero forums lol.
     
  9. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    I'm using the Dolphin Browser HD + Swype keyboard and it works great for me :D
     
  10. shadders139

    shadders139 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    10
    so is using a 3rd party keyboard app the only solution to this problem? i agree that it is really annoying :(
     
  11. insaneoctane

    insaneoctane Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump. Any progress here? Google w/o predictive sucks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...