Worst camcorder ever!!!


Last Updated:

  1. unkillable

    unkillable Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is a rant


    Tonight I'm at a halloween party and I wanted to take video. The epic has failed me greatly. Of all the 5 or so videos I've tried to record, only one came out correctly.

    First of all, why do I have to hit the non mms video option everytime I start it up? Why isn't something like this remembered? This forces me to go through a whole extra press which makes me miss out on moments that are happening immediately.

    If that's not the problem, even if you hit both, the cam doesn't consitantly record. Twice I hit the record and it was not recording.

    But things get even worse, I get video fails all the time. It just says it stopped recording. I have a whole gig free and it just stops for no f'n reason. and even on top of that, the one video that I intentionally wasted time double checking every stop to see it record, the PHONE FREEZES. The video just stopped and it locked up so I had to take out the battery.

    This is unacceptable. The quality is amazing at times, but samsung has really done a terrible job with this software. I'm disgusted and I pray they take notice and bring some changes to probably the least consistant camcorder I have ever used.. even on phones like my crappy cam htc mogul, it shot video when I wanted it too, no question no fail.
     

    Advertisement
    Biged1966 likes this.
  2. cruiser771

    cruiser771 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    on the contrary, mine has worked pretty flawlessly. you probably have an isolated issue, unless others can claim the same problem
     
  3. futureprospect

    futureprospect Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    mine works everytime flawlessly too. And i don't have to choose non-mms everytime.

    Do you have an aftermarket microsd card? Im asking because i had issues with video on my last phone (lg dare) and it was because of crappy micro sd card.
     
  4. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    I haven't had those issues either (besides the choosing which size I want at start up)
     
  5. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42
    Mine works fine too. Get yours looked at by Sprint service.
     
  6. lxy33

    lxy33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just noticed that when I take video it looks grainy...blurry somewhat-anyone know why?? I have one clear videos ll the rest look weird.....
     
  7. MisterDisney

    MisterDisney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    My only complaints are that the recording will unexpectedly quit (fail) sometimes.. probably not much can be for that. And that the recording is encoded in 3gp. Makes it difficult to watch on my TV. Supposedly that will be changed in the next update though.
     
  8. razer

    razer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    In bright, sunlight, the quality of the video is fantastic. I can report zero problems using the camera/camcorder app. Pretty happy having it.
     
  9. pablo.station

    pablo.station Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    48
    I too have the same situation with the camcorder. Every time I launch the camcorder it ALWAYS displays "Normal" or "Limit for MMS" before it will let me shoot. I dont have ANY of the other issues that you're having though.

    Does anyone know if this a setting that can be changed so the default will be normal?

    I have the Samsung MicroSD card that came with the phone
     
  10. huss30

    huss30 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to get the recording failed error all the time and it would cut off for no reason. I mounted the sd card to my pc and I formatted the sd card and havent had the issue since.
     
  11. holes45

    holes45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    16
    I get the normal or mms prompt everytime I use the video camera too. Gets old.
     
  12. Othan1

    Othan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    26
    MMS prompt: just hit the record button twice and it defaults to normal and starts recording.

    The only time my camera ever locked up was when I was texting and using Cardio Trainer (GPS) at the same time. It only did it once but never again. Had to battery pull that time.
     
  13. cary328is

    cary328is Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    427
    Wow that sounds horrible! I'm pretty happy with mine. Even outperforms the laggy recording of my EVO. I was actually thinking our Epic has a pretty on-par video recording functionality (although without editing) with iPhone 4
     
  14. flonkas

    flonkas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have had the vide recording fail like 3 or 4 times and it was very annoying but not the biggest problem
     
  15. ub3r-l33ch

    ub3r-l33ch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    3
    No problems with mine. Picture quality and camcorder quality are excellent.
     
  16. thecraigj

    thecraigj Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm not having any issues with mine either. I'm amazed at the quality from a PHONE :)
     
  17. Biged1966

    Biged1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the iPhone 4 as well and debating to swicth to the EPIC. I've had it for 3 days noy and DO NOT LIKE THE CAMERA/VIDEO CAPABILITIES ON THIS PHONE. To send a video via MMS i have to reduce the resolution to 177 x 144? WTF IS THAT? that is 1982 video quzlity. How in the world do you come out with a phone like this with a weak ass capibility like that? I am leaning to cancel my Sprint service and stay with AT&T. This is pathetic





    Tonight I'm at a halloween party and I wanted to take video. The epic has failed me greatly. Of all the 5 or so videos I've tried to record, only one came out correctly.

    First of all, why do I have to hit the non mms video option everytime I start it up? Why isn't something like this remembered? This forces me to go through a whole extra press which makes me miss out on moments that are happening immediately.

    If that's not the problem, even if you hit both, the cam doesn't consitantly record. Twice I hit the record and it was not recording.

    But things get even worse, I get video fails all the time. It just says it stopped recording. I have a whole gig free and it just stops for no f'n reason. and even on top of that, the one video that I intentionally wasted time double checking every stop to see it record, the PHONE FREEZES. The video just stopped and it locked up so I had to take out the battery.

    This is unacceptable. The quality is amazing at times, but samsung has really done a terrible job with this software. I'm disgusted and I pray they take notice and bring some changes to probably the least consistant camcorder I have ever used.. even on phones like my crappy cam htc mogul, it shot video when I wanted it too, no question no fail.[/QUOTE]
     

Share This Page

Loading...