Would like to update my Eris from 1.5 to 2.1General


Last Updated:

  1. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    There are so many threads about updating my Eris to 2.1 - I don't know which one to use. Can someone point me in the direction of downloading the correct file with instructions. Any help is great..:eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    If your "1.5" phone is version 1.17.605.1, then follow the instructions given to user deezer in this thread.

    This presumes that you do not want root, but just want to upgrade to a stock phone.

    Which beggars the question - are you not getting "Update Available" notices on your phone? (The last time I rolled my phone back to 1.5, I got an "Update Available" notice within 30 seconds of booting the phone up .)

    eu1
     
  3. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    Menu-settings-about phone-in update status or something
     
  4. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
  5. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    newbie question - "whats root?" -

    no I'm not receiving any update available notices - even when I check, it states my system is up-to-date. I do have version 1.17.605.1.

    this all began when I noticed that my USAA banking mobile app was different from my girlfriend's app..
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    You will have to update manually more than likely.

     
  7. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    root is like "unlocking your phone". gives you lots of options like wireless tethering, apps2sd, overclocking etc...

    try forcing your phone to search for the update by going to your phone dialer and press: *#*#2432546#*#* dont press send. let it do its thing and see if you get an update prompt in the upper left hand corner.
     
  8. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    OOHHHHH - thanks much XX_Bishop_XX - that make sense!!! so if I root my phone, will also update to 2.1 - I will read through the like you provided as well..

    erisuser1 - thanks for your feedback as well - those instructions are great!!

    I may keep my phone a little while now - I'm really waiting on the Droid X..
     
  9. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    I think you would need to run a 2.1 ROM.
     
  10. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Excellent !!! Deezer's instructions worked great - I'm running ver 2.1. I only lost my contacts, but since I have them backed up in my Google account, I'm not too concerned. Just working on restoring my contacts - any thoughts??:D:D

    very glad I found this forum!!
     
  11. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    If they are Google contacts they will be re-synced automatically when you enter your gmail address and password. It could take a few minutes if you have many.
     
  12. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    You probably mean "doogald's" instructions, but at this point I can't tell.

    Did you do a "FR" (Factory Reset) after you completed the 2.1 "update.zip" install?

    If you do a FR, you will probably need to call *228 (and select option 1) - either that or the phone will do that for you when you first boot it up after the FR.

    Some folks think that HTC/VZW didn't do a stellar job of working through all the possibilities and that upgraded phones seem buggier than phones that are upgraded and FR'ed, (I don't know myself, because I rooted before the OTA 2.1 came out.)


    Glad everything worked out so quickly.

    BTW - what you just did should not prevent you from rooting in the future, should you want to do so.


    eu1
     
    clvpatterson likes this.
  13. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1

    Great!!! found it..yep it took a few minutes - but I am good - thanks again for your assistance...:D
     
  14. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    You bet.
     
  15. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    LOL - yes - its doogald.. no, I didn't have to do a FR - I just rebooted the phone once complete and it was fine.. I just restored my contacts - and I am back in business..

    I will try to root my phone, but it seems a little more detailed then just downloading one zip file.. Thanks much!!! :D
     
  16. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Wanted to mention that a number of forum members believe that a factory data reset should be performed as part of the update once it is completed. This step has been receiving a lot of positive feedback in terms of correcting many issues people were having after the update. Hopefully you haven's dont too much customizing if you decide to factory reset, because the phone will be wiped. Just a suggestion, some people do/did not need this. Check out this thread:

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/80233-factory-data-reset-option.html

    **EDIT** Just a suggestion; entirely up to you. I recommend it; however, just from all the posts/threads and personal experience.

    Menu > Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset
     
  17. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    if its recommended, I will reset my phone, but can I save my text msgs. I haven't done too much - only a couple of apps...
     
  18. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172

    I know there are other forum members that don't think this step is necessary, but there has been many times where small issues, sometimes not so small have been corrected with a reset. Hopefully you have time to browse the other thread to help deterimne. This is an application I use when I reset my phone. It's in the Market as well, I believe. At least it used to be.

    SMS Backup & Restore v3.2 Application for Android | Tools
     
  19. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    clvpatterson likes this.
  20. clvpatterson

    clvpatterson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep - its still there, I've backed up my messages, and contacts, since I only had a few apps, I'll download them again. I just performed the FR..
     

Share This Page

Loading...