• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [Sprint] Would love to downgrade to Sense 5.5! Help?

kar4ken

Lurker
May 31, 2014
I'm very dissatisfied with some of the changes in Sense 6. I don't really want to root my phone, but will do so if that's the only way to get back to Sense 5.5. Total noob android-wise, but have lots of experience with Windows (Win7 64 bit system currently), so with a bit of help I should be OK.

HTC One
Carrier: Sprint
Android Version: 4.4.2
PRI: Version 4.38003

:thinking: Don't know which tells the bootloader version, so, here's what's on the screen:
M7_WLS PVT SHIP S-ON TH
HBOOT--1.57.0000
Radio --1.01.20.0515
Open DSP--v32.120.274.0909
OS--5.03.651.3
eMMC--boot 2048MB

I haven't been able to locate an RUU for the Sense 5.5 version, but maybe someone can help. I have access to my husband's HTC one that has still has Sense 5.5, so I could copy it from there if that would work.

I would really appreciate help with this. I wish HTC would just make it easy to undo an unwanted update. Jeez, even Windows can do that.

I'm very dissatisfied with some of the changes in Sense 6. I don't really want to root my phone, but will do so if that's the only way to get back to Sense 5.5. Total noob android-wise, but have lots of experience with Windows (Win7 64 bit system currently), so with a bit of help I should be OK.

Hello and welcome to AF

Unfortunately it's a very long process to get from 4.4.2 back to any version before that. The first requirement is s-off and the 1.57.000 hboot your on now is very difficult to get s-off. If you were to actually get s-off you could flash a previous version know as a RUU (Rom Update Utility). If you would like to read about getting s-off and flashing RUU's ...Start here
[Guide] Get S-OFF hboot 1.55 after OTA or RumRunner failed (pouring 8) - xda-developers

Reactions: scotty85
Upvote 0
Hello and welcome to AF