wow *228 PRL update actually did something + to my signal strength!


Last Updated:

  1. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    so, for years as a long term VZW user, I updated my PRL every 2 months SOP. And to be honest, never noticed a difference. But just did it "in case" a new cell came online, a signal strength improvement was made, I wanted to be sure to tap into it.

    Well, lately, since 2.1 update, it seems my coverage in my office and at home has been reduced. Down to 1 bar.

    Well, on a whim, I did my standard *228 PRL update I had not done since owning my Droid the last 2.5 months and for the first time ever, ever, I visually watched it jump from 1 bar to solid 3 instantly at the moment the update was done. And, it has stayed there for the last 1 hour. I have not moved or changed anything else.

    who knows... but thought I would pass it on as it was so dramatic, a real first for me to see actual bar changes, and so instant, it seemed worth posting about for those that have not done it in a while, never done it, or never heard of it. this is what I had always hoped would happen all those hundreds of times I did it before on my other phones.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    well.. I spoke to soon I have to be honest and admit as ever since that day.. it has been back to being **** and I am back to 1 bar whereas I use to be at 3 bars. and, the app No Signal Alert and it has now logged 9 times lost signal in my home whereas before 2.1 I had 0 and 3 bars.

    current PRl is 51891
     
  3. obutto

    obutto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm at 51893 and I haven't updated it for a while...
     
  4. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I am in SoCal... you?
     
  5. obutto

    obutto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    14
    NYC. That might make a difference? No idea.
     
  6. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    The droid is sucking on signal after the 2.1 update and it pisses me off to be honest. I just a new PRL that came out two days ago and I now no bars then 4 for a flash then 1 then 4 then none and I want to run it over with a car!
     
  7. desertdawg

    desertdawg Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found this info on another website
    "[SIZE=-1]Note: Verizon issues several PRL's with each revision, and the one you receive depends on your plan, phone model and location".[/SIZE]
     
  8. obutto

    obutto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    14
    It doesn't really matter if the bars are flashing...You will still have signal, whether good or bad. Well that happens in my case. I find the bar system highly unreliable. Rather try to look in status for the dBm or if you want to measure 3G just get an average of the bars and see where it hangs out the longest.
     
  9. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    that dBm rating is so lame... any idea what -90, -93, -89 even means? what is the scale? what is good, what is bad?

    I would like to see an app - like GPS Test - that takes signal info and brakes it down into some sort of nice meter that makes real world sense.
     
  10. Gulfstream

    Gulfstream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    22
    Lower numbers are better, a very strong signal is usually in the 50-60 dbm range, weak is above 90 dbm.
     
  11. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    first time I have ever been told I was weak :(
     
  12. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    Also realize that those numbers are for 1X signal only and not 3G so you can not rely on those for that. Also I have seen as low as -60 for that and the worst or no signal is -120.
     
  13. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    this is exactly why a signal strength meter app is needed..

    who knew you could go down to -120 and how much worse is -120 then -95.... it needs some sort of scale or perspective
     
  14. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    Something happens within the phone when it does PRL, like sends more power to the antennae or something, so signal will boost and stay boosted for a time. Then something happens and it's like the antennae powers down and signal goes down too. It's like the phone knows when it NEEDS to go max power to the antenna, like, I don't know, when it needs to do a PRL. But this max power antenna isn't a resting state thing.
     
  15. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    I wish there was a way to have it at full boost say when you have it charging and using wall power? Also from what I have seen the numbers do go with the bars, for 1X that is. From what I have seen it is full bars at -60 to -75, three at -76 to -90, two at -91 to -100, and one at -101 to like -115 and then none but still there at -115 to-120. This is not at all scientific but what I have quickly observed on a few occasions and total guesstimates.
     
  16. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    well, -90 to -93 is equal to 1 bar but mostly 0 bars to me.

    -88 to -89 is like 1 bar

    but then I just watched -90 at 2 bars and then drop to 1 bar and then -91 was 1 bar and -89 is 1 bar -92 went to 2 bars and -91 went to 1 and blah blah

    this is seems so illogical & impossible to really use. if such a small range is swinging me from -88 to -93 gets me 0 to 3 bars.. what the hell happens at -120 or 0? what would you need such a swing for when a small range seems to cover it all?
     
  17. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    NO remember I said those numbers are for 1X service not 3G! So the bars you see for 3G will NEVER match the numbers shown so do not try to do that because they will never be right. If you want to see the 1X bars with numbers go into the service program and change it to 1X only and watch the bars with the numbers and to show it does not show 3G numbers change it to 3G only and it goes to -120 no service!
     
  18. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I UNDERSTAND :) and most of the time I am on 1x these days :(

    I am just reporting the oddness of the #'s sans going in and making any service program changes.. just reporting what the average guy see's in bars relative to the provided signal strength number.

    today I watched 3-4 bars get a -100 rating??? that seems counterintuitive or the bars do not keep up with the signal strength meter
     
  19. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    That is very weird to me because when I change my phone to 1X only the numbers and bars are always spot on and I can watch the bar change with the move of one number in the other direction going to next set.
     
  20. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I did not change mine to 1x - maybe that is where I missed doing what you wanted be done.

    but then again, no one does that change.. average people will just look at the bars and look at the signal strength meter and it is hard to find a correlation.

    BTW, called and complained to VZW. just to complain.
     
  21. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    Good we need to inform them. I did not mean to be pushy to change the phone to 1X I just wanted you to know you can never look at the two and find the link because they are not the same at all. Actually if you want to see the numbers for 3g go into the service menu and look at the HDR receive power and then you will see the correlation for 3G.

    Menu: ##7764726 code: 000000 then test mode enabled then you find all the goodies
     
  22. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    great tip.

    BTW, when I called, I told them about all the users complaining on the forums I visit - 3 different forums. she seemed to be noting it as she asked more details about it, put in an "issue ticket" and an engineer is suppose to call back.

    everyone having issues should call them and put them on notice.
     
  23. Kbluna

    Kbluna Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    A Preferred Roaming List just makes sure that you are billed correctly, does not enhance signal.
     
  24. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes it will enhance service if they added roaming to a previous area with no service. It changes where you roam and everything so you have a chance of increasing roaming signal and service.
     
  25. Kbluna

    Kbluna Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regardless of if you update you PRL, your phone will still connect to a new tower. PRL just updates the SID's. There is a chance that when the phone was initially OTA'ed that something did not go through correctly...but doesn't happed often.
     

Share This Page

Loading...