WPA2 Enterprise Support/Android 2.1Support


Last Updated:

  1. sampike

    sampike New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi. Does anyone know if Android 2.1 (on an HTC Desire) is capable of WPA2 Enterprise? I called HTC and they told me there was no support - that it wasn't a limitation of the phone, but that Google doesn't offer support for it yet - which seems to me rather ridiculous (My school will only let me use their network on a WPA2 Enterprise network). Does anyone know of any work around? Also, when is Google set to release a firmware update providing native support for WPA Enterprise?

    Thank you.

    -Sam
     

    Advertisement
  2. sampike

    sampike New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    First off, this has been a very aggravating process and a huge surprise that other people on the web haven't found solutions to this problem. Here's what I did to solve my problem:

    In the wireless settings menu (under Wi-Fi networks), the phone would ask me for a "credential storage password" whenever I tried entering into my school's WPA2-Enterprise wifi, not knowing what it was I would press "cancel" and get nowhere. After reading on a forum that any 8 character password would reset the password, I tried it. After 3 times, it asked me to reset the password, so I did. After doing this, a never-before-seen field asking credentials of username and password for "(School)-WPA". I entered my credentials and it worked (Username and password). I can't believe it was that simple and more to the point, I can't believe HTC had no idea how to help me! How could this be?

    So people needing to get onto WPA Enterprise wifi, I got the fix!
     
    kelaanz likes this.
  3. sampike

    sampike New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    As an add on to what I previously said, to remove credential storage passwords, simply go to Settings>Security>Clear Storage. That should clear the password, and avoid this whole mess in the first place.
     
  4. Tru7h

    Tru7h New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sir, are the man, thank you.
    Now we must make this thread easier to find!
     
  5. sampike

    sampike New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Happy I could help! How can we give this forum more exposure?
     
  6. kelaanz

    kelaanz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    had to sign up JUST to tell you that this is brilliance. couldnt find this solution anywhere.

    +1 internets to you sir

    this solution works at my university and has made my life a lot easier.
     
  7. bh9329

    bh9329 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow. big thanks. have seen other forums using the rooting method, but this is much simpler and safer.
     
  8. osama_zabin

    osama_zabin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't get the credentials (username & passwrod) for WAP network, it's only showing the wireless password, but not username & pasword.

    I tried to clear credential storage, then making a new connection, but it keeps asking me again for new credential storage password.

    Any help please?
     
  9. amitpn

    amitpn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I have a HTC desire HD, i tried this but it didnt work. amit
     
  10. sathyaevo3d

    sathyaevo3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man.. I just registered to thank you.... This is a perfect and neat solution.. works like a charm... I have no clue why HTC suggests this even as an option...

    Fantastic is all I can say
     
  11. civilclerk1

    civilclerk1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have tried the above method on my Samsung Infuse to no avail. Can someone please come up with a solution to this problem? I am not going to be forced to buy an IPhone that makes you buy everything. I'm surprised they haven't come up with a way to make you purchase an app and renew it just to make a call!! Android people help!!!!! We need WPA Enterprise now!

    :mad:
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,768
    Likes Received:
    10,688
    WPA does work with Android - I have a couple in my WiFi network list. And with my phone the only credential I can see in the settings for most of them is a password, though others I have specified authentication type (e.g. PEAP).

    Maybe ask in the Infuse forum if it is different on your phone. This is a pretty old thread here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...