X10 query about Internet UsageSupport


Last Updated:

  1. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    This may seem dumb, so please be nice! :p

    When using Timescape, getting updates does that count as Internet Usage?

    Do I turn off the Sync Service to turn off Timescape from updating?

    Thanks for the help guys!?

    I just don't want to go over my limit and realise I have to pay tons for the data usage!? :eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. afhstingray

    afhstingray Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes timescape does count.
     
    blaze_dave likes this.
  3. yetep

    yetep Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Settings > Wireless Controls > Mobile Networks

    Untick MMS & Data.

    This stops it connecting automatically, which comes in handy when you press something accidently. It turns off the connection, effectively.
    When an MMS comes through you get a "Download" button, so all you need to do is go to the settings, tick the MMS & Data box and then download it. Same goes for when you WANT to go online.

    Done, Dusted. no more bills.

    And download 3G Watchdog to keep an eye on it ;-)
     
    blaze_dave likes this.
  4. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks guys for your help much appreciated :D

    yetep, downloaded that now. Thanks for that much appreciated :)
     
  5. puppet_master

    puppet_master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    12
    to be honest, you bought the wrong phone if you dont have a data package ;)

    -pup-
     
  6. davethorp

    davethorp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sounds like the OP does have a data package but it's one of these unlimited ones with a limit.

    Dave which network is it on?
     
  7. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Dave (lol same name),

    I am on Orange Panther 30, so get "Unlimited Internet Data Usage", but if you look close I get a total of 750mb.

    So that's why I wanted to know about Timescape and have limited myself from going overboard lol.
     
  8. davethorp

    davethorp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah figured it would be something like that. Gotta love these limited unlimited data plans. I'm on O2 where unlimited does mean unlimited unless you seriously start taking the p**s with it and even then they will warn you rather than just start charging you

    If background tasks are using your data and dropping them down don't help you can always turn data off and then just turn it back on when you need it. Not idea but would keep you safe from nasty surprise bills
     
    blaze_dave likes this.
  9. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know, bloody bastards :mad:

    Yeah I have turned the syncing off for now until I need to use it. I see no point leaving it on when I am using my laptop. I don't press on the Timescape icon because that automatically syncs things regardless of saying don't sync!

    But with 3G Watchdog, it really helps a lot to keep track :D I mean I did a test, press Timescape and one update equals 0.40MB! Sneaky...
     
  10. davethorp

    davethorp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wouldn't take too many of them to hit your limit would it :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...