XTR Sense 4.1


Last Updated:

  1. ErisLove

    ErisLove Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3

    Advertisement
  2. ErisLove

    ErisLove Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    loving it so far, very fast

    restoring all my apps now

    and its like im using apps2SD without even having it enabled

    :)
     
  3. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Very cool, here's to hoping that Zach does that with his xtrROM soon!
     
  4. ErisLove

    ErisLove Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    hell yeah i got about 60mb extra storage space with the same apps installed which is a decent amount

    97mb free, love it
     
  5. Peter123

    Peter123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    24
    Could anyone please give a step-by-step instruction how to upgrade from version 4.0.6.1 ?

    As I understand the 4.1 version does not need an EXT partition (?). So What do I do if I have currently have an EXT partition with all the apps on it (using apps2sd and cache2sc).

    Please?
    Peter
     
  6. jpzsports

    jpzsports Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ya I was wondering the same thing...should we format our SD cards first?
     
  7. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah, what is this cache 2 cache stuff? I definitely love the idea of of easily swapping between froyo and eclair.
     
  8. ErisLove

    ErisLove Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    im not sure what the heck it is

    im not real in depth with this stuff, but i didnt have my sd card set up for apps2sd on sense roms anyways,

    so all i did was wipe and flash the rom, and i get alot more storage lol
     
  9. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    This ROM is legit. Zach said an xtrROM version should be available this weekend.

    Cache2cache is neat... I'm not going to explain in detail as to what it does (Zach does in the XDA thread), but you won't need Apps2SD unless you've got a ton of apps.

    Also, the Gscripts for setting the OC max and min, memory management, and Dalvik heap size are great.

    The non-Beta could be even better, as Zach is considering an integration with Conap & Decadanc3's new CFS kernel.

    Just when you thought 2.1 Sense on the Eris couldn't possibly run FASTER on the Eris or make your phone experience better (more space, remove bloat apps easily, overclock more efficiently, etc.), zach.xtr strikes again!

    Hands down one of the best dev's on XDA right now.
     
  10. shh

    shh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    20
    I flashed the rom, got it all set up with cache2cache, etc. It seemed to be working well and I did an Nan BU and went on to XTRSense. When I tried to restore the 4.1 I got an error message and could'nt restore. This had never happened before and I wondered if the cache2cache was the culprit. What's your expierence?
     
  11. ErisLove

    ErisLove Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    thats happened to me before too, but not on this rom yet
    every once in a while when i try to restore a nand it wont let me and i basically have to start over again
    but i havent even backed up 4.1 yet, i just flashed and have been running since, right now im afraid ill mess up something too good lol
     
  12. mcmi11ions

    mcmi11ions Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    how many is "a ton of apps"? I have 20 or so and have been using apps2sd on 4.0.60.
     
  13. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'm currently running 42 Market apps, many of them are LARGE apps, and I'm not using Apps2SD. :D

    Cache2cache is awesome. I still have 84.78MB of Available Space!

    EDIT: Also, I've been running my phone with normal usuage (a few texts and some light internet browsing) since 6 AM (it's now 1 PM here) and I'm at 81% battery life. This ROM is ridiculous.

    EDIT 2: In case you're wondering the Gscripts I ran to get my battery life like this, here are all of the Gscripts I ran in setting up this ROM...

    1. cache2cache
    2. set_cpu_high_max (OC's you to 748MHz maximum)
    3. set_cpu_low_min (UC's you to 19.2MHz minimum... I'm assuming this is a huge battery saver. Haven't noticed any lag at all.)
    4. set_memory_balanced
    5. set_dalvik_vmheapsize_24
    6. remove_amazon
    7. remove_footprints
    8. remove_teeter
    9. remove_stocks (There is a glitch with this script but you can correct it. When loading this Gscript, scroll a few lines down and you'll see "stocks.apk.apk" referenced in there. You need to delete the 2nd .apk before saving the script, then it will run fine.)
     
  14. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    I reposted this on XDA and am still waiting to see if anyone responds. I can't do a wipe/flash at the moment and it will be several hours before I can. If no one replies either here or on XDA, I will test this myself.

    Having said that, running over this in my head, I think you probably just had a bad Nandroid BU. I don't think cache2cache would mess up your Restore.
     
  15. 3-fords1000

    3-fords1000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running Apps2_Internal and when I tried to NAND B/U + ext I got an error. Ran it straight up and it worked. Rebooted after B/U. Went into recovery and restored the successful B/U. All is good.

    According to Ti Back up I have 55 "User Installed" apps and I have 68.6MB of free internal phone storage.

    This is the fastest SENSE based ROM I've tried yet. xtrROM is the only ROM I've used that is faster and that's only because Launcher Pro is faster than SENSE.
     
  16. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    Agreed! I love LP but I use my HTC Music and Photo Albums widgets too much to give them up!
     
  17. mcmi11ions

    mcmi11ions Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I guess i'm not using anything close to a lot of apps.

    So. For me to get going with this (i'm sorry for the questions, but i'm still new to android, though i've wiped and reloaded WinMo roms more times than i can remember)

    I'm going to backup, wipe and then run the new rom. Since I'm not going to need apps2sd here, is there another step or program to use to help reinstall the ones I have? With WinMo, I could run sashimi to reinstall all my cab files. Is there anything like that for android?

    Lastly, the only experience I have with GScript was picking and choosing the scripts that were included in the 4.0.60 version of this rom. I assume some of the ones posted above aren't native in the rom. How do you get those?

    Thanks!
     
  18. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    Here's Zach's reply over on XDA...

    Source: xda-developers - View Single Post - [ROM][9/7/2010][GPL] xtrSENSE4.1 [cache2cache,apps2sd,oc,jit,flash10]- HTC Sense
     
  19. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    cache2cache ftw.

    Most of us don't need anything2SD. with this ROM.

    You can't flash Froyo ROMs if you partition your SD card, and it will shorten the lifespan of your SD card. Don't need it with cache2cache. You have 75mb extra to install apps. That's plenty for 99% of us.
     
  20. ErisLove

    ErisLove Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    yep this rom took it to a whole other level

    the main reason i used froyo roms was for more apps and storage

    this rom is faster than the froyo roms ive tried and does the things that froyo can that i like
     
  21. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    Paul,

    Are you going to flash CFS or wait to see what Zach does with it (two versions from now)?
     
  22. jpzsports

    jpzsports Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    What advantages would the new kernel bring?
     
  23. Shakes The AssClown

    Shakes The AssClown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    It said in the change log that it is not overclocked. It says you can do it through Gscript. I never used Gscript before....how would I go about doing this?
     
  24. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    to every one using cache2cache, are yall formatting sd cards?
     
  25. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    I did, but it's not "required."
     

Share This Page

Loading...