xtrROM 4.5


Last Updated:

  1. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    [ROM-beta][GPL][9/9/2010] xtrROM4.5 [cache2cache,apps2sd,jit,lwp,oc,flash10] - xda-developers

    http://zach.xtr.i6ix.com/xtrROM4.5-beta.zip

    From zach's notes:

    Default ROM Configuration
    You do not need to run any scripts unless you would like to change the following default configuration:
    • Live Wallpapers: Not supported (you must run GSript to enable)
    • dalvik.vm.heapsize: 24m
    • min free memory values: "balanced" (1536,2048,4096,10240,12800,38400)
    • CPU Settings: Overclocked (Min-245760 Max-710400)
    • Just In Time Compiler (JIT): Off
    • Cache Location: Cache2cache On
    • Apps2sd: Off
     

    Advertisement
  2. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    will the final release be full wipe also?
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I've noticed that most final releases require that, as said by the developer.

    Those who need to bring their apps, etc into a new ROM should head to Market and snag one or more of the many backup, web based apps available there, just in case the wipes are necessary.
     
  4. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    oh its not a problem, just an annoyance really.

    after half a dozen ROMs I finally find 'the one' and then a week later I have to wipe it again :(
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    3.0.3 has been my default since it came out (almost stayed with 2.1.1 :D).. I have found no reason to "upgrade" as yet, although I do flash and test them for zach, along with many Froyos. ;)
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Woo Hoo, I've been waiting for this one!
    Guess I know what I'll be doing this afternoon....
     
  7. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    I'm running 4.5 right now and it's very nice! I will have to wait and see how the new CFS kernel performs as far as battery life goes. So far everything is quite snappy and quick. I have noticed a little lag when downloading multiple apps in the marketplace and trying to swype a new market search, but I think that has always been the case even in previous versions. Overall, great update!
     
  8. shaggylouie

    shaggylouie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    I came back to xtr to try this one out - very, very, nice. I did a full wipe. Everything is extremely smooth and fast. I still like the phone on froyo ROMs, but xtrROM4.5 just feels good. I'll be on this for a while.
     
  9. shh

    shh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    20
    I wiped (full) and flashed 4.5 but had no phone service. I checked the About Phone menu and no carrier or other info was listed. I was going to repeat the wipe and flash process but decided to return to the Sense ver. as I have that going really well at this point.

    I'll wait for some other user responses before I try it again.
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Often, when a major component loses function following a new ROM flash, it is the flash that did not set in well... I'd not hesitate to re-download the zip and start afresh.

    The only thing that would change my mind about that would be reports, from other users of that same ROM, of that same issue.
     
  11. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Sometimes when I flash a ROM I lose phone service, simply turning the phone off and on has always corrected for me.
     
    Frisco likes this.
  12. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yes, I was about to edit that into my post when it occurred to me I'd left it out. ;)
     
  13. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I installed 4.06 "just because" and have gotten it exactly to my liking. I dont think I will be moving up to 4.5 any time soon.
     
  14. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    It's nice to get a ROM that ends up being the default.

    Given the differences in Erises in the hands of users, and the differences in the user's habits and needs, it sure is helpful to have so many ROMs available.
     
  15. mikey517

    mikey517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    OK...I'll ask......I am running 4.0.6.1 with the app2SD and cache2SD working.

    To test this, do I need to UN-partition and reformat my SD card? or can I flash the way it is to test it with the app2cache functions?

    I'm so confused.....sometimes!
     
  16. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    No, there is no need to repartition. Here is what I would do:

    If you have Titanium Backup, it will make it a lot easier to reinstall your apps. It'll be even easier if you pay the donation to unlock the ability to batch restore.

    - optional: run Titanium Backup, run the batch process to backup user apps
    - restart in recovery
    - do a Nand+ext backup
    - wipe data, dalvik and sd:ext
    - flash the new ROM
    - restart and authenticate to your Google account. Do not go into the market yet.
    - run the Gscript to do apps2sd, cache2cache, cache2sd - whichever ones that you want
    - restart
    - If you used Titanium to backup your apps, restore (with the donation version, you can batch restore all missing apps+data.)
    - If you did not use Titanium, go in to the market, menu->downloads, and restore each of your apps (which you want back) without leaving the market

    Once you have everything set up, you may want to Nand+ext this as well.
     
    bddfc likes this.
  17. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I'd question this last instruction. To ME, the reason to go to this version of the ROM is to use cache2cache and NOT use apps2sd (which is the way it's defaulted). If you leave it set up that way then this second Nand would be a regular nand backup and not a nand+ext because you won't have any apps in the ext partition.
    And if you didn't do the ext wipe before flashing this ROM you could have apps there from the previous version (assuming you were apps2sd), and I think that would just get ugly if you wanted to restore from this nand.
     
  18. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Does anybody know what the green 'wheel' in the notification bar means?
     
  19. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Ok, I'll then clarify to say that you should nand+ext if you have set up apps2sd - otherwise, just a regular Nandroid backup.

    However, restoring this would be no different from what the ROM is running anyway. If there are apps unwiped at the the time that flash the ROM, it wouldn't be any different from the way it would be after a Nand restore. If you have wiped ext and do a Nand+ext, there will be nothing restored to ext after a Nand restore anyway.
     
  20. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    isn't that the battery ?:confused:
     
  21. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Hmmm... yes, now that you say that, that is the icon that's 'missing'.
    Very obvious, once someone points it out to you... :)
    (I'm going to think that I would have figured it out on my own, once the battery was no longer fully charged...)
     
  22. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I just loaded up 4.5, after the flash I flashed the nexus lockscreen I like it best. I will post if everything is going ok. 20min later I got lost in the setup. I know you all understand. I love the new boot animation zach needs to make a zip so we can put it on other xtrroms.
     
  23. dracozny

    dracozny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    23
    been running it all day no probs, very responsive and no bugs so far.
     
  24. erisx

    erisx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    hows the battery life??
     
  25. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have just started using it last night. It seems to be doing the same, but that is just my opinion.
     

Share This Page

Loading...