Yahoo email in HTC

1. Fiona0007

Fiona0007 Member

Hi
    I am a newbie in this forum. I recently got a HTC magic, and was trying to get my yahoo mail into email application without success. It kept saying i typed in the wrong ID or password. It accepted hotmail and google mail though. Anyone managed to get yahoo mail into Email application? Please tell me how you did.

Advertisement
    :
  2. leec983

leec983 New Member

Hi,

I had the same problem, but it seemed to have something to do with the settings for my Yahoo account which I had for years. Despite looking into all the settings I couldnt sort it, so I eventually created a new account, and forwarded all my emails from the original account to the new one. The new one set up no problem. Hope this helps a little.
  3. mjschmidt

mjschmidt Well-Known Member

Yes, I have my Yahoo! Mail account set up on my HTC Magic.

Incoming settings
    Protocol = POP
    Username = your full yahoo email address
    PW: Your password
    POP Server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
    Security Type = None

Outgoing settings
    Username = same as above
    PW = same
    SMTP server = smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type = None
    Server port = 587

NOTE: In order to get POP access to your Yahoo email in the Mail app on your phone, you must either be paying for their premium service, or you have to agree to receive newsletters from Yahoo `partners`to get it for free.
  4. Fiona0007

Fiona0007 Member

Hi leec983, thanks for suggestion. Is your new email yahoo? I opened another yahoo mail account and tried set up in HTC email application to no avail. It was not registering at all. Did you need to tweak the set up of your new yahoo mail?
  5. Lefthand

Lefthand Well-Known Member