Yahoo! Mail issues with stock mail appSupport


Last Updated:

  1. bird jam

    bird jam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have enjoyed being able to check all my e-mail accounts in one place, so despite having the Yahoo! Mail app that was recently put in the Market, I have been using the stock mail app to check my Yahoo! mail.

    Last night when I checked my Yahoo! Mail through the stock mail app, I was getting weird error messages. Most of the time it would go ahead and put me in my Yahoo! inbox but there would also be a message saying "login failed." I would click OK and then go about my business because e-mails were coming through. I figured it would sort itself out at some point.

    This morning, it was still doing it and it was annoying, so I re-booted the phone. Same problem. So I decided to delete the account and re-install it (a few weeks ago I had some issues with my Exchange mail account and deleting then re-installing fixed them.)

    Now, when I try to re-install the account it says "Authentication failed. Please verify your username/password." I have tried it over and over. I know I am using the right username and password - I just used them on my desktop PC to get into the account. And my Yahoo! Mail app still works on the phone.

    Anyone have any ideas what has happened and/or how I can fix this? I really want to continue to be able to check my Yahoo! mail on my phone without having to use the Yahoo! app.
     

    Advertisement
  2. maxnicks

    maxnicks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use K9 Mail and have no issues. 2 different yahoo accounts along with 2 google apps email accounts. It's free on the MarketPlace.
    [​IMG]
     
    bird jam likes this.
  3. aw1974

    aw1974 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Did you have WiFi on? You can't use yahoo and the stock mail app with WiFi on.
     
    bird jam likes this.
  4. bird jam

    bird jam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you. I just tried it again and was able to get in. Weird.
     
  5. bird jam

    bird jam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    And you know what? I think I may have had wi-fi on when it wasn't working. So you can't access Yahoo through the stock app with WiFi on? That's weird. Why would that be?
     
  6. aw1974

    aw1974 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    It's a known issue specifically with Yahoo and the stock app. The only way I know of to get around this is to use the new Yahoo Mail app in the Market.
     
    bird jam likes this.
  7. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    This problem drove me nuts for a while. I am now using the Yahoo Mail app from the Market when on wifi @ home but like the stock mail app for quick email reading when I don't need easy access to folders, etc. Any idea if the reported new mail client will fix this?

    TIA

    -kj-
     
  8. cfh09

    cfh09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, I turned off WiFi to set up my Yahoo mail, but keep WiFi on all the time now. I continually get those messages but my mail still goes to my inbox, so I just disregard the error messages (press OK) and read my mail. I don't need access to folders, so this works for me. The key was to turn WiFi off when setting up Yahoo. I found that out by reading the board here. I do this for the same reason--I like having one place to go to for all of my email.
     
  9. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yep, ur right. 3G no problems. That is just WEIRD. Hope they fix it. Does this mean that everytime my Yahoo mail tries to check automatically when I have Wifi on I'm going to get an error message?
     

Share This Page

Loading...