Yahoo Mail on HTC HeroSupport


Last Updated:

  1. AloMon

    AloMon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    HIya.. not got the phone yet.. but it looks good.. as an Apple fan i love the Iphone but im not willing to change carrier or pay what they want.. so i think the hero is my best option.. What is important to me is my email.. I want to be able to sync my yahoo account with yahoo mail and the mail on the phone so if i send an email on my phone it will appear in the sent folder on my yahoo mail on the computer and vice versa if you follow... With Android being google will i be able to do this from the phones email client like the iphone does...

    Rob
     

    Advertisement
  2. olap_nl

    olap_nl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi you will be able too work with your yahoo.mail but to get the apps easily etc it works best with a gmail account. Run both I do, as well as my work exchange mail account...
     
  3. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    I am a big fan of Ymail, and I also have a gmail account.

    I use the gmail account for backing up contacts, and for personal email. The yahoo account WILL work fine with android, but it's pop access (polling server, not push). You may also find that you need to update to yahoo mail plus, for the pop to work (maybe not, dunno).
    If I were you, I'd consider setting up a gmail address and getting gmail to "fetch" your yahoo mail.

    I stick with ymail as I like the folders - more like an online outlook.
     
  4. AloMon

    AloMon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this mean that if i send mail from my phone via yahoo, the sent mail will not be in my sent folder on my computer etc?

    Rob
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I think it will probably not be there.

    Did you give it a try ... that is the easiest way to get your answer ...
     
  6. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    For GMail I believe you would see it in sent items on the server but not for yahoo as the general email client is different from the GMail client. As has been said your yahoo mail will be fetched using POP.

    BTW the GMail client supports push.
     
  7. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    On my older s60 device it had imap idle for yahoo - which was really great to be honest.
    I'm a big user of the folders in my ymail account, and I'd like to retain that if possible. Mine is set up as pop right now, but I may tinker with it when Orange pull their fingers out and fix my data issues.
     
  8. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    IMAP Idle supports pushing does it not?
     
  9. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    It's a weird sort of stepchild of push.
    It keeps a connection with the server and asks it for changes to it's status. If there are changes, it polls to check what those changes are. Since it's only asking one question (has anything changed yet?) it doesn't cost data or battery in the same amounts as a constant connection would. It only connects fully if the answer is "yes, something HAS changed".

    That's how I understand it anyway..... ;)

    I may be wrong, any experts out there?
     
  10. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    Actually that would be quite efficient with data usage...not a bad solution IMHO.
     
  11. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yup, the system I used was great, and gave me access to all my folder on my ymail account.
    Push is nice, but in my opinion, only Blackberry have this perfected. They use servers to squeeze and shrink your mail - very efficient and reliable.

    I'll always say, you can't get more dependable and solid than a blackberry.
     
  12. metownsend

    metownsend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there
    I have a Hero that was on orange but is now totally unlocked and de-branded but I can not get my ymail to work on it neither does my gmail import it any ideas as i am at a complete loss!!

    cheers
     
  13. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have a gmail account set up on my Hero, but don't use it much. It's more of a throwaway email addy. My main one is Yahoo (UK). It works really well with Android on the Hero for me. I have had no probs sending and receiving via Yahoo.

    Just input your email addy and password and off you go. It's that simple. As this also worked so well on Symbian (my previous love), it was a requirement for it to work on Android to. I'm very happy to say it does.

    Hope that helps. :)
     
  14. metownsend

    metownsend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi jim I have tried everything possible and it just aint having any of it short of throwing it from a great height lol but seriously i input everything correctly but it wont have none of it!!! do i have to upgrade my ymail as i am have the freebie one lol if so do i have to pay for it?

    cheers
     
  15. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi metownsend,

    I don't understand why it's not working for you. I do have the paid version of Yahoo, but that's only to get rid of the adverts on the web page. As far as I know, there are no other benefits, except quicker support.

    In case it helps, here's what I did to get Yahoo set up....

    In Yahoo - go into mail options and make sure your account is set to work with pop3 as well as web based. I'm not sure if the free version has the same options as paid, so I can't help with this bit.

    On the Hero:
    Go to the list of installed apps. Select "Mail"
    Select "New Account" from the drop down menu
    Select "Other (POP3/IMAP)"
    Enter your email address and password
    Now, here's where I'm not sure how it's to be set for you as I'm in the UK...
    For incoming mail:
    POP server - mine shows "pop.mail.yahoo.co.uk"
    Security type - mine shows "ssl"
    Server port - mine is set to "995"
    For outgoing mail:
    SMTP server - "smtp.mail.yahoo.co.uk"
    Security type - "ssl" again
    Server port - "465"

    That's all you need to get Yahoo UK working. You'd need to check with Yahoo if you live elsewhere, although I'd imagine the ports would be the same.

    I can't imagine yours failing for any reason other than a setting being wrong.

    All the best,
    Jim
     
  16. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    In case anyone needs to do this without Yahoo Plus, I tried it just a few minutes ago with new instructions, and it worked for me. Choose IMAP as the protocol, not POP3, and then try to use these settings:

    Incoming settings
    Email address: yourname@yahoo.com
    Username: yourname@yahoo.com
    Password: ******
    IMAP server: android.imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type: SSL
    Server port: 993

    Click "Next" and it will bring you to the next page of settings:

    Outgoing server settings
    [X] Login required
    Username: yourname@yahoo.com
    Password: ******
    SMTP server: android.smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type: SSL
    Server port: 465

    Hope this helps!
     
    Mortus and MissGaby like this.
  17. MissGaby

    MissGaby New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked...I now have both my yahoo and ymail account going to my phone without having to upgrade to the plus version.
     
  18. Jake24

    Jake24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have sprint htc hero and have been trying to set up my yahoo email account, i have tried all the suggestions and still does not work. on the incoming settings page i have all the information entered correctly ( i checked over and over) and when it tries to verify my account information it gives me the authentication failed please verify your username/password....but they are exactly like i type them into yahoo when i log on to the website. any suggestions?
     
  19. Jake24

    Jake24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    After playing with the phone's settings and emil settings...I figured out that it will NOT connect to the email server while using WiFi for some unknown reason. When I swith it over to the sprint mobil network it works just fine...so I'll just leave it set on this. Has anybody had this experience or know the reason it is happening?
     
  20. mandarin24

    mandarin24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    hello, are these settings for push email? i want to leave winmo and go to android but may be forced to go to iphone as its supports yahoo push email apparently. i just want to receive yahoo emails like i receive text messages - as and when. i don't want my phone to have to check and 'pull' emails at set intervals!! will these settings work?! don't wanna spend 450quid on a new phone and get it wrong again! (i have an HTC HD2 at mo).

    pls advise and thanks in advance :)
     
  21. aisseleacim03

    aisseleacim03 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    My yahoo mail stopped working after flashing two Roms. I don't know what happend or why, but it stopped updating or pulling any new mail.
    I just got it to work one more time following some advice from an Eris thread.
    My IMAP server said:
    android.imap.mail.yahoo.com

    I deleted the word android from it. So now it reads
    imap.mail.yahoo.com

    My SMTP server said:
    android.smtp.mail.yahoo.com

    I deleted the word android from it. So now it reads
    smtp.mail.yahoo.com

    I just tried it and it is back on, pulling the mail when being refreshed.:D
     
    Mortus likes this.
  22. cvkalyank

    cvkalyank New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i read all the threads to set up the yahoo mail account on htc hero and it failed. i was stumped that for some it worked and for others it did not. i kept at it for 4 days to discover that the problem was simple and i had been a big ass. somebody had suggested that u need to check the pop3/forward setting in the options. but everytime i went to it there was no such option. finally i discovered (which i guess everyone here knows but i didnt) u need to set the reginal settings as yahoo asia. the pop3/forward setting comes up in the Options/mail options menu in yahoo mail. once u check that then set up the yahoo mail account in the htc hero with manual settings with server addresses given in the forum it works! thanks guys for all ur help. by the way i used pop setting in htc hero and not imap.
     
  23. Tebbetts4

    Tebbetts4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Enter your full email user name, i.e. user1@ymail.com
    Tap "Next"

    INCOMING SERVER SETTINGS
    Set "Protocol" to IMAP
    Enter your Email address, i.e. user1@ymail.com
    Enter your Username, i.e. user1@ymail.com
    Enter your Password
    Enter the following IMAP server settings:
    android.imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type should be set to SSL
    The server port should default to 993
    Tap "Next"

    OUTGOING SERVER SETTINGS
    Verify that there is a check in the "Login required" checkbox
    Enter your Username, i.e. user1@ymail.com
    Enter your Password
    Enter the following SMTP server settings:
    smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type should be set to SSL
    The server port should default to 465
    Tap "Next"

    If you desire this to be your default email account, put a
    check in the "make this my default mail account" checkbox.
    Tap "Finish setup"

    Hope this works for everyone! I never actually found a thread with settings that worked. It was really just trial and error while comparing
    with Yahoo mail account settings that were known to work on another
    HTC phone.
     
  24. pianoman1

    pianoman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two different Yahoo accounts on my Hero. Both were working fine. Today, one of them started the 'authentication failed' message. It is set up EXACTLY like the one that is still working, and no 'tweaking' I have done has fixed the problem, and believe me, I have tried everything I have read online for fixes. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...