yahoo mail problemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Suljin

    Suljin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I watched a video on here somewhere on how to set up yahoo mail. Awesome that worked, I click on the button and it goes right to it and I can access it just fine. Problem is, it doesn't notify me when I get an email, for some reason it just doesnt even though I have it set up to. Any suggestions?

    Also on a side note, I was trying to figure out a way to input say a face like this in texts -_- a much easier way than hitting - then alt and _ and back to alt then -, and thought maybe I could say "if I type in ppp --> -_-" but I haven't been able to make it work or figure anything out. Suggestions on that? Thanks :)

    Oh! I also forgot to mention, I accidentally took off the search bar and voice search icon and moved it to the trash at the top of the homescreen, and now I cant figure out how to put it back.
     

    Advertisement
  2. hiway

    hiway Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    On this same Android site following that same said article that has the video showing step by step how to set this up there are a lot of comments of recent history (including mine) that show there are again problems.

    I don't know what the issue is except it seems to be with the incoming setup giving a "incoming server settings" error:

    ! Setup could not finish
    Username or password incorrect. /edit details/

    It -was- working for me up to the 29th of November. Now it won't work for me. I have tried all the suggested "fixes" of logging off, going to classic view etc. to no avail.
     
  3. DroidKid

    DroidKid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am to, having the above issue, it keeps saying password or user name incorrect, when it in fact is.
     
  4. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    to all above, apparently, IMAP Yahoo will not work over Wifi. Please read one of the dozens of posts on this subject.
     
  5. tsturbo

    tsturbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is not working over 3G, quite working a few days ago and I have tried everything to get it back, even e-mail yahoo, who is looking into it.
     
  6. rudykip

    rudykip Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    My Yahoo mail worked then stopped. I deleted my account and re-entered the info, I believe the prob was not having "mobile" in my SMTP server setting. This is what I used:

    INCOMING
    IMAP server - imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port -143
    security type- none

    OUTGOING
    SMTP server - smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 25
    secuirty type - none
    *check require sign-in
     
  7. bcbbcb

    bcbbcb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a paid yahoo acct, the kind where you can have your own domain name for your email address. I am making no progress whatsoever in getting passed some kind of 530 access denied Biz mail is not supported on this server message. I have tried every possible permutation suggested in these posts.

    Is there anyone out there that has a paid yahoo email acct that can help?

    I am about to take the phone back to Verizon and either see if someone can help or chuck the damn thing all together. It is all the more depressing becus I like the phone and the other features. I very much want to get past this BS so I can start using many of the cool features but w/out email, it's almost useless to me.
     
  8. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Yahoo acc. with my own domain (for emails only), it is not a "plus" however so I still have to set it up as an IMAP. To see if your's is truly a Plus Account, go to your Yahoo mail settings (on the web) and click on POP and forwarding, it will then either show you how to do it, or tell you that you need to have a Plus Acc.
     
  9. chilicon

    chilicon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an update from my visit to Verizon this morning. I had exchanged my original Droid (41/09) for another (44/09) and ran into the woman who had helped me out. I asked her about the Yahoo IMAP settings she had used on the first phone and she commented that Yahoo is going to block, or is no longer allowing, access to Yahoo mail on Google devices. ( I assume she meant any Android device). When I told her that I am currently receiving mail on my Droid using the IMAP setup she was surprised. She mentioned that the only way to access Yahoo mail will be through the web version (which I don't like), or forwarding the mail to my Gmail account.

    I'm not sure how accurate her comments are, but if true it is very worrisome.

    Has anyone else heard similar rumors?
     
  10. allanlaw

    allanlaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    31
    Given the problem of the Droid depositing hundreds of copies of a single outgoing message on the Yahoo servers, I am not surprised. :(
     
  11. JustROLLIN

    JustROLLIN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can also confirm this. I stopped into the Verizon store, after talking with my friend a B2B Verizon rep AND one of their engineers, they also told me its on Yahoo's end....not the OS or VZW's end. Really a major pain considering my main account is a Yahoo account.
     
  12. Demthios

    Demthios Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I hope this will work again soon, or maybe Yahoo should make its own freaking Mail App...
     
  13. JustROLLIN

    JustROLLIN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Agreed. Seems to me, that since Yahoo has been losing market share to Google they would not want to push away more loyal users by not offering an option for Android phones. I certainly dont want to switch everything over to my Gmail account, but I will if I cant get push service from Yahoo.
     
  14. Demthios

    Demthios Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even K9 isn't working any more...don't really see away around it. Went to go forward all my yahoo emails into Gmail under folders but looks like you have to have Yahoo Plus to do that was well...
     
  15. tsturbo

    tsturbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I emailed Yahoo about this and got a response saying that they do not support e-mail for Android but that they were working towards correcting this.
     
  16. JustROLLIN

    JustROLLIN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thats excellent news if it turns out to be true. At this point, the Yahoo mail issue was one of my few complaints with the phone. Thanks for sharing.
     
  17. bcbbcb

    bcbbcb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is just another reason that Google is trading at around $585 per share today and Yahoo is bouncing around $15 (which is an improvement over recent performance). I fully expect them to be as petty as possible over accommodating the Android platform for the simple reason that it is a Google product. Which is the final straw for me. I am going to do whatever I have to to transfer my domain registration and email and just generally avoid any contact or commerce with this company.

    Yahoo management has driven a powerful promising brand that was lucky enough to emerge from the tech bubble positioned for success into a laughing stock. I agree with one of the guys on CNBC's Fast Money who put it this way about Yahoo, "They should seek a buyer and just quietly go away."

    Illegitimus Non Carborundae!
     
  18. chilicon

    chilicon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got the 2.0.1 update and my IMAP configured Yahoo mail account started working again. Coincidence...?
     
  19. allanlaw

    allanlaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    31
    So, is it still making hundreds of duplicate copies of sent emails or not?
     
  20. chilicon

    chilicon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately it looks like the 'Sent' mail folder is still filling up with multiple copies.
     
  21. JustROLLIN

    JustROLLIN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Interesting. I cannot even get the yahoo email account to register when I use the manual process under the "email" icon.
     
  22. TheAugust

    TheAugust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope the reports are true about Yahoo "looking for a fix" for this problem.

    I'm still unable to access my Yahoo account. It worked for a day or two last month, but hasn't since. I'll seriously abandon anything Yahoo if they can't simply work with this client like seemingly every other mail company does.

    To say the least, this frustrates me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...