Yes another "swype doesn't work after 2.2" questionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. geodr

    geodr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Swype worked fine for me before I received the 2.2 update on my Droid Inc last week, but now it doesn't. I've tried the following, as recommended in many other posts:

    1) uninstall and reinstall swype
    2) switch text input method to default keyboard and then back to swype
    3) hard re-set phone

    and none works in restoring swype. Oddly, in the "settings/language and keyboard" menu, swype is checked as enabled, but in actuality it isn't.

    Has anyone got swype to work on the Inc w/2.2, and how?

    Thanks,
     

    Advertisement
  2. Millwright1607

    Millwright1607 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem on my Droid Incredible and reinstalled the software and still could not get it to work. I launched Swype tutorial and when it showed how to select Swype as the default input and asked if I wanted to do it I selected yes and it started working. I'm not saying it's a working solution for everyone, but it worked for me. Good luck.
     
  3. geodr

    geodr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you launch the tutorial?
     
  4. i2ichal2d

    i2ichal2d Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    did u go to settings>keyboard & language>select swype? then go to input setting and chosing swype. If you did that and it doesnt work try another swype build, there are a few differnt ones out there.
     
  5. graff_king

    graff_king Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    18
    That trick not only works on swype, but also many keyboards that for some reason do not like 2.2
     
  6. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    87
    As this is a question in regards to the DInc, i moved this to the support and troubleshooting section for the incredible section of the forum as you will get better exposure and results there.
     
  7. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    I uninstalled and reinstalled Swype from a fresh download after the OTA update, but haven't done a hard reset. Swype works most of the time, but once a day or so I lose the ability to "swipe" with it (i.e. it just works like a normal keyboard) unless I select another input method and then go back to Swype. Anybody found a fix for this? I'd hate to do a hard reset just for that unless it has been confirmed to solve this particular problem.

    Edited to add: According to the Swype forum, this is a known problem that they are working on. Doesn't look like a hard reset will help - if I'm interpreting things right, it has something to do with the way Froyo manages memory.
     
    MikiBee and alecks2217 like this.
  8. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    194
    Oh this is good info. I've been uninstalling and re-downloading Swype. Now all I have to do is toggle Input Methods! Thanks!!!
     
  9. parkschr

    parkschr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    11
    Someone gave me this link. I tried it and it fixed the problem. I have not had a problem yet.
     
  10. Bobkaron

    Bobkaron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. Multiple times a day have to switch back to default ten back to swype input in order to get back swiping ability.
     
  11. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    87
    Please remember that posting links to downloads for swype are not allowed, as swype is a CLOSED BETA program, and only downloads from Swype | Text Input for Screens are LEGAL.
     
  12. spence341

    spence341 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    There is a version available with the Microphone now. It was actually built for the EVO but works fine on the Incredible. I have not had any issues with it not working one I re-installed it.
     
  13. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    Got an email this AM with a link for an updated Swype beta. It's working fine so far, but it'll take a few days to really tell.
     
  14. sO9ovZNQyyPB

    sO9ovZNQyyPB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed swype on my evo and selected swype in the keyboard setting but there is no swype option in input?

     
  15. upther

    upther Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    61
    Updated my beta this morning and so far haven't had any issues. Hooray!
     
  16. dumluk2002

    dumluk2002 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could not get it to work on my Droid after the update. Did all the suggestions.. still nothing.......gave up until fixed.
     
  17. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    The update worked OK for me until I rebooted for bump charging this morning...same old problem. :(
     
  18. theslik1

    theslik1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm running the update also and so far no issues.
     
  19. Echo17121

    Echo17121 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    Same here friend.
     

Share This Page

Loading...