Yes, Your Epic Can Use USB and Bluetooth on a MacTips


Last Updated:

  1. Flaspeneer

    Flaspeneer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    24
    To those who are wondering whether they can connect their Epic to a Mac for USB and bluetooth file transfers:

    You can absolutely mount your Epic on a Mac. From the Epic's home screen, either go to: (1) Home Screen (Menu Button) > Applications > Development or (2) (under Launcher Pro only) Home Screen (Menu Button) > Preferences > Advanced Settings. From there, enable USB Debugging.

    Now plug in your micro-to-USB cable. A prompt will appear on your Epic; select Mass Storage. Your SD card will then appear on the desktop of your Mac and you can transfer whatever you like.

    Here's the other way to mount your SD on a Mac:

    Switch off your Epic, remove the SD card, slip it into the card adapter it came with and plug the adapter into your USB port. (I do hope that everyone who experiences connection issues with a Mac and any other smartphone or media player will now know enough to try this before posting rants about how bad their new ____ is for "causing" the problem.)

    Bluetooth also works, though you won't be able to see the Epic's file menu on your Mac's desktop.

    Under bluetooth, your Mac will identify and pair with your Epic (and identify it as a "smartphone") as soon as you make your phone and Mac visible and set up your Epic on the Mac as a device. However, your Mac won't connect until you access the pull-down bluetooth menu from the upper right-hand corner of its screen. From there, scroll down to the name of your device and select "send file". Select the file you wish to send and you're done.

    You should also tell your Epic always to allow your mac to send files if you don't want to kill bluetooth transfers under apps or disrupt whatever else you're doing on your phone to answer individual prompts.
     

    Advertisement
    1upper likes this.
  2. evperry

    evperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    What is launder pro? Is that a program that you download?

     
  3. evperry

    evperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    when i turn on the usb debugging, i dont get the promt for mass storage.

    when usb debuggin is on i do get the prompt.

    anyone else have this problem?
     
    TiffanyDyme likes this.
  4. evperry

    evperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    debug off.

    mounts to my macbook pro but not the macbook air.

    i will check my imac to see if it mounts there also.
     
  5. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46
    All I did was plug it into my iMac, and select mass storage on the phone, and the Epic folder was on my desktop.
     
  6. evperry

    evperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes, it works on every mac I won except for the mac book air with the cable that came with it.

     
  7. boatorr

    boatorr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having problems since the last update i did on my epic 4g in October. When I first got it i had no problems mounting it to my macbook pro then I did the update and now when i plug it in. I get the charging, mass storage or tether option on my phone and It acts like its mounting but it doesnt show up anywere on my mac.

    I've called sprint, and samsung and still have no clue how to fix this. I went to a sprint store and showed them the it was something with the update because they could mount my phone on their PCs (with the drivers of course) but I couldnt do it on my mac. Then they pulled out a new phone out of the box and and we plugged it in and boom it worked perfectly.

    With the proof its not a problem with my mac i was told i was $hit out of luck until they come out with a update. Anyone else had this problem or figured out how to get around it?
     
  8. ijames

    ijames Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    USB... My Epic worked fine when I got it on a Mac. It still shows up in Ubuntu. I upgraded to DK28 and started moving a bunch of apps to the SD because well, it said I was out of memory?!? Painful..

    In the process, my Mac no longer seems to recognize USB. Also in DK28 the USB in the status bar seems to disappear so I can't get back to the choice screen (charging, storage, tether). Also it takes like three clicks and a lot of waiting for it to "say" it's in USB mode but it's really not because the mac's not seeing it.

    I think I will try seeing if Parallels sees it. That has actually a good chance of working.

    WHEN will Samsung release Froyo???? Or maybe they should just go straight to Gingerbread. I mean this is ridiculous.

    What I don't get is how sometimes I can't even use the keyboard or slide the screens and it freezes up.... I mean the iPhone NEVER does that...

    Android really is the Windows of cell phones...

    I still like Sprint though...
     
  9. ijames

    ijames Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to have gotten it to connect to the Mac with debug on and into my THIRD port on the MacbookPro. But the Epic keeps vibrating in three short bursts... Like "S" in morse code... ... Whuh?
     

Share This Page

Loading...