You may be able to go back to 1.5 from 2.1 OTA?General


Last Updated:

  1. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I have not tried this myself, but somebody at Android Central forums claims that you can install the 1.5 MR2 update over the 2.1 OTA update after upgrading from 1.5.

    See this post/thread.

    (The "above procedure" was this:

    Again, I have not tried it myself, and really do not wish to, but for those who want 1.5 and use the known root procedure from there, perhaps it's worth a try?
     

    Advertisement
    stoldmymojo likes this.
  2. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    88
    Another kick in the nuts to the leakers.
     
  3. alchemize

    alchemize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Seriously.

    I'll admit, I'm heading out the door and therefore too lazy to do a search - but has anyone tried this method on the leak? I'm assuming with all the people wanting a rollback, someone has tried it. But if no one has due to the fear of bricking a phone, maybe I'll try it and see if it can work for the leakv3 as well.
     
  4. tpatnoe

    tpatnoe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am on 2.1v3 and have tried it. DOES NOT WORK. Installation Aborted
     
    alchemize likes this.
  5. Gecko5

    Gecko5 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    It seems like it is steps for people using the OTA version of 2.1. I am going to keep an eye on this because 2.1 is really starting to annoy me.
     
  6. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    I actually posted the original instructions.. back when we were itching to get back to a stable 1.5 (because of the v 1 and 2 leaks).

    it doesn't work on ANY leaks... I haven't had a desire to downgrade my wife's OTA 2.1... but if she complains enough i'll be testing the downgrade on her phone... she's not enjoying the OTA 2.1 bugs... so after our trip to chicago I may just attempt to back her phone down. =-) But, im sure d33733t will beat me to the punch on instruction postings, tonight I pack!
     
  7. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    can someone please help me with this ever since installing OTA 2.1 from 1.5.. I'm dying for 1.5..
     
  8. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I would just like to comment on my experience. It went so smooth, it was in-fact easier to set back to 1.5 than it was to initially, manual install the OTA 2.1... I downloaded the MR2 file, unzipped the file, went to my folder, which was Wasn't named PC OS as stated above, but the other one was named MAC OS, so it was obvious which path to take, as I'm running PC. opened the above mentioned file, and that took me through step-by-step. Note: you do not need to mount your phone, simply plug it in to the computer and don't touch anything on the phone. Took less than 10 minutes, and of coarse as soon as turning the phone back on with 1.5 I see the OTA msg. I'm, just praying it doesn't get too annoying..
     
  9. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I would just like to comment on my experience. It went so smooth, it was in-fact easier to set back to 1.5 than it was to initially, manual install the OTA 2.1... I downloaded the MR2 file, unzipped the file, went to my folder, which was Wasn't named PC OS as stated above, but the other one was named MAC OS, so it was obvious which path to take, as I'm running PC. opened the above mentioned file, and that took me through step-by-step. Note: you do not need to mount your phone, simply plug it in to the computer and don't touch anything on the phone. Took less than 10 minutes, and of coarse as soon as turning the phone back on with 1.5 I see the OTA msg. I'm, just praying it doesn't get too annoying..
     
    thenestor likes this.
  10. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I would just like to comment on my experience. It went so smooth, it was in-fact easier to set back to 1.5 than it was to initially, manual install the OTA 2.1... I downloaded the MR2 file, unzipped the file, went to my folder, which was Wasn't named PC OS as stated above, but the other one was named MAC OS, so it was obvious which path to take, as I'm running PC. opened the above mentioned file, and that took me through step-by-step. Note: you do not need to mount your phone, simply plug it in to the computer and don't touch anything on the phone. Took less than 10 minutes, and of coarse as soon as turning the phone back on with 1.5 I see the OTA msg. I'm, just praying it doesn't get too annoying..
     
  11. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    From 2.1v3 using this utility, I got "ERROR 140 BOOTLOADER VERSION ERROR".
     
  12. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    It will.
     
  13. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162

    To be honest, it is well worth it so far. The only time I'm prompted with the

    update notification is whenever I reboot the phone, other than that hasn't

    bothered me yet. I'm still staring at all the root files I have downloaded,

    deciding whether or not to go for it.
     
  14. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    MrZaphod likes this.
  15. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    Running 1.5. Much more stable than 2.1, no problems at all. The downgrade was very easy, worked perfect. The notification for 2.1 only prompts on re-boot, hardly noticeable.
     
  16. jscott96

    jscott96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Has anyone tried this on 2.1v1 leaked?
     
  17. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, no go.
     
  18. mandirae16

    mandirae16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are these instructions the same for a mac? or is there a different way I have to do this if not on a PC?
     
  19. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    You'll have to do this on a PC. I'm also all Mac here, but I do have one Mac with Boot Camp running XP still just for something like this.

    Actually, you may (or, should) be able to do this with a Mac running Windows in a Parallels, Fusion or Virtual Box, since it will just communicate over USB.
     
  20. mandirae16

    mandirae16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks, I will have to go find a PC, haha.
     
  21. whitewallman

    whitewallman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    62
    Confirmed. Flashed from ota 2.1 to 1.5 with no issues. Actually takes less time than upgrading (about 15 minutes). And you still have the ota upgrade option if you change your mind.
     
  22. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12

    Theres files to do it with a Mac. In the download.
     
  23. cmertin

    cmertin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you root, you can still keep 1.5 and you can disable the notifications ;-)
     
  24. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    How is that done, I'd like to root to do that, and delete footprints.
     
  25. stoldmymojo

    stoldmymojo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 here,i now have a reliable eris:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...