YouTube for Sprint Hero


Last Updated:

  1. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hi everyone, I'm pretty much new into the android world, I got my Sprint Hero about three weeks ago and even though it's quite slow sometimes, it doesn't really bother me since my previous phone was a Sprint Diamond and that one was really slow, to the point of freezing and having to restart that phone. Anyhow, I've read that by rooting your phone you can do a lot of cool stuff with your phone and I just can't get over the fact that YouTube doesn't work at all on my phone, not even if I try viewing YouTube on the browser (whether I try the preinstalled browser or Opera Mini), it just tells me that the server can't be found whenever I "click" on a video's link. I haven't rooted my phone yet, I think it's a bit complicated plus I don't wanna mess up my phone, but I'm willing to do it if there's a way to make YouTube work, weather YouTube works or not, I think I'll end up doing it anyway, it's very tempting lol, but, does anyone know if there's a way to make YouTube work after getting your phone rooted?
     

    Advertisement
  2. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    If you root and flash a 2.1 ROM, Youtube works great. Any 1.5 ROM it is still iffy.

    Rooting is easier to do than it seems, just make sure you research it, and follow instructions exactly as written.

    Until you root, try using Youtube when you have WIFI access, it has always worked at 90%+ for me while on a WIFI network.
     
    Lozer_Kid likes this.
  3. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Sweet, I'll keep that in mind!! Thanks for replying!!!! :D
     
  4. Syphon

    Syphon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll second him on the fact that it works flawlessly in 2.1. I use Fresh 2.0d and my youtube works great.

    Flashing is easy, just follow instructions and don't try to be a know it all, and you will do fine.

    That or you can be patient and wait for Sprint to finally release 2.1, however who knows when/if that will ever happen at this rate.
     
  5. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    It works fine on stock if you delete the cache/data through your settings for the Youtube application.
     
  6. T Mac

    T Mac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    89
    ...I tried clearing the cache in settings and the YouTube app won't play videos on 3g. At least on my phone it doesn't. I don't have wifi connection right now so I can't confirm that. YouTube videos do play through the web browser app on 3g though.
     
  7. V425

    V425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    22
    YouTube works on the mobile site through the stock browser for me too (not rooted)
     
  8. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    What is the "stock" browser? hehe...
     
  9. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    The "stock" browsr is the browser that came with the phone. There are several other browsers available for download that can be used on the Hero, like Opera mini, to name just one. Do a search at the market. :)

    But you knew that already...:p
     
  10. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Oh okay, yeah I've tried viewing YouTube on the stock browser and Opera Mini, but it just doesn't work. After I click on the link of a video that I want to view, it tells me that the server can't be found and I need to check that the url is correct. When I try that on the Dolphin browser, it does bring up the url, but it still doesn't play the videos. I even tried downloading this programe name Tube Downloader and when I preview the videos, it won't play them! I wonder what's the deal with HTC and YouTube?! or I wonder if it's a Google issue! :cool:
     
  11. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Have you tried using the Hero's Wi-Fi to view YouTube?
     
  12. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yes, I have tried that, but my WiFi at home is not as fast, so, some videos take a while to load. Yeah, I know... I'm doomed! lol
     
  13. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I would rather have gunky youtube over some of my issues with this Moment, good thing there's a Hero making it's way to save me from this Moment this time.
     
  14. V425

    V425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm not sure if it makes a difference, but when using the browser are you going to the full site or the mobile site?
     
  15. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    It automatically goes to the mobile site.

    Btw, I noticed that mobile facebook doesn't work either... It brings up the facebook mobile home page and most of the times it works, but sometimes when I click on a link or something, it tells me that the site doesn't exist, this happens on all the browsers that I've tried (Stock browser, Opera Mini and Dolphin)... :S
     
  16. SHO_ONE

    SHO_ONE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    150
    Maybe you could help me out to.. I too am new to Android, just traded my Pre for a Hero over Easter weekend... If I was to root my phone and flash a 2.1 rom... would that be like having an unoffical version of Android 2.1?
     
  17. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    27
    Since going to Fresh 2.0d youtube works like a champ for me, so far I haven't come across any of those pesky playback error messages I got frequently (every video) with the 1.5 builds.
     
  18. MikeMcG

    MikeMcG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, only better.
     
  19. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    ^+1 for this
     
  20. SHO_ONE

    SHO_ONE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    150
    Thanks for the quick reply... I youtube'd a how too root video and it didn't look hard; howerver if you guys know of a better way to root and where to get a 2.0 or 2.1 rom I'd appreciate it,thanks!
     
  21. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=519

    Great site for rooting and modding. lots of useful info
     
  22. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    What 330D said.
    If you go there it is like the second link down, the wiki for rooting. It literally takes about 5 minutes to root, a little more when you flash the recovery.
     
  23. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    27
    Check out the sub forum All Things Root, there's a sticky in there that gives you step by step instructions. Also you can auto root your phone with Flipz's kitchen, or if you're in the Boise area I'd be happy to help in exchange for a sixer.
     
  24. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    I there really anyone in the Boise area? lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...