Z4root app works with.7!


Last Updated:

  1. 06rubi

    06rubi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the Z4root app off of the market and rooted my phone with the ota 2.31.651.7 installed! I haven't flashed a ROM yet but I did get the WiFi tether down loaded.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Kool, post your links and your setup process for other to see and learn ;)


     
  3. Meka

    Meka Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey i saw this app in the market just a minute ago. What will this actually do? and is there way to unroot if possible? Thanks
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    I posted a link in your other thread, it does not mention the Hero as Compatible, [APP] z4root - xda-developers


     
  5. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Okay, so I downloaded this, and I don't know if I'm rooted or not. How do I know that? Everytime I tried rooting, at the end, this app kept foreclosing, so I don't know if it finished rooting or not. There's a superuser app installed on my phone and I tried to uninstall some default apps, but it keeps telling me unsuccessful. I don't know... I'm so confused... bahh and a bit frustrated...! :confused:
     
  6. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Not telling you that, some say it worked on there hero, I am just saying that the thread it was posted in does not mention the Hero as being compatible, that is it, does not mean it does not work, like the MCat mentioned, check your apps and see if you see an app called Superuser

    Edited: Just noticed you said you have Superuser app


     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Post in the thread of the link I posted here and see what they say there, you may have to register if you are not, [APP] z4root - xda-developers
     
  9. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    OKay, I do think I'm rooted! :D I just don't know what to do now lol... First things first, I would like to removed some unwanted Sprint apps, how do we do that?
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    You need to be careful on the apps you remove, I would simply root, then I would do a Nadroid backup, then install a Rom with none of the bloatware


     
  11. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    SHEESH - I hope this works for my wifes Intercept...
     
  12. 06rubi

    06rubi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I installed it this morning I have had no issues. When I first ran the root it just sat there and seemed to have gotten stuck (loading circle thing was spinning) for 10 minutes it so. I figured It wasent working so I backed out. When I re opened the app a new unroot "button" appeared. I have not tried to unroot as If yet. I do have the superuser app, and I did successfully load wireless tether!
     
  13. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Let me ask you this. If you root using this method, do you have to keep the Z4Root app on your handset after it is done with the rooting process?

    Would removing that app get rid of the root? I am guessing no, but it does not hurt to ask.
     
  14. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    It shouldn't remove root - But ....Here is what I would do.
    Root - leave the app on your phone (it has an unroot function as well)
    Make a backup of your STOCK ROM -

    That way if you can play flashing Roms and can always go back to Stock and unroot if you need to take your phone to Sprint for Warranty work...
     
  15. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    I decided to install Z4Root on my Sprint HTC Hero, because I'd seen other people with the same phone and ROM installed (651.7) able to install it. And naturally, as my karma for breaking things came into play (it's why I was so good at QA), the Z4root install process stalled on me. 20 minutes and no change.

    I pressed the home key and the white screen with green HTC lettering appeared. It took a while, but the sense desktop finally loaded. Things seemed a bit laggy... Didn't see a super user application. So, I ran Z4Root again. It immediately jumped to the screen it was on previously. I waited another 15 minutes. Still no response. This time I completely rebooted my phone manually. And... it worked!

    I don't have any clue why I had to reboot manually, as the page said it would happen automatically. But that's all it took.
     
  16. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    The app is kinda Quirky - Have seen many people say that had to do a battery pull - But 90% of the time - it is rooted -
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    That is why I still like the Universal Androot, but they took it off the market, but you still can get the APK around, just does not work for the .7 build, so you have to revert back

    Universal Androot


     
  18. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Me too Don - Thats what i used -
     

Share This Page

Loading...