z4root? Where is it?


Last Updated:

  1. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    What happened to the app? I'm trying to unroot my phone and it wont let me do it and it's not on the market anymore. Does anyone know what happened? :(

    EDIT: never mind, it worked... thanks goodness I happened to back up my original ROM xD
     

    Advertisement
  2. tekmac

    tekmac Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you back up your original ROM?
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    LOL, I was going to get you the apk

    FYI whenever you use one of these apps, make sure you get a copy of the apk, this way you can save that on your SD card and a back up on your PC and if they ever take it out of the market you can always install it back anytime.
    ;)


     
  4. Marinate305

    Marinate305 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    DonB can you get it for me please? I just went to the market to dl'd it and it was gone. If you have a barcode for it or something I will take that. i need it to root not to unroot.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Here you go, [APP] z4root - xda-developers


     
    paully and Marinate305 like this.
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Run the ruu to unroot your phone
     
  7. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21

    I used ClockWorkMode to back up my original ROM


    Sweet, I gotta back up this app. It's really handy for my Hero!


    I'm not sure where to get, but if i'm not mistaken, that only works on Windows computer and Im a mac user
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Z4 will work for you then
     
  9. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Wow! Z4Root disappeared from the Android Market the day AFTER I finally rooted my Sprint HTC Hero. Talk about good timing. I usually have horrible timing. :D

    I should save a copy of the .apk just in case I need it again in the future. Thanks for the link! :)
     
  10. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    For what it is worth, I found it here too: Download z4root.1.3.0.apk .

    Sorry for the double post. I should have edited my last one.
     
  11. paully

    paully Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    24
    (soo... where do you place the .apk to use it? or does something trickier need to happen for installation? I'd like to use it to root build "2.32.651.2 CL282911 release-keys".)
     
  12. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    You can throw it on the root of your microSD card. That basically means just copy it to your microSD card without putting it into any folders.

    There are a bunch of .apk installer apps on the Android Market. I just use EStrongs File Explorer to find the .apk file and install.
     
    paully likes this.
  13. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Use es to open the apk and install it. then click the app in the app drawer
     
    paully likes this.
  14. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I beat you by one minute, MahaloCat. But, nice try anyway. ;)

    We both gave essentially the same information. Haha. :D
     
    paully likes this.
  15. paully

    paully Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks! Indeed, I already had the power.

    Linda Manager did the trick.

    whether or not it works with build is a different story, we shall see...


    EDIT: Worked like a charm. Well actually it seemed to hang when z4 was 'Rebooting...', gave it 10mins. I clicked to home (things were real laggy at this point). Restarted phone, ran z4 again, prompt asked for permission to give z4 root access, and now the SU icon is in the drawer. First root!
    and so It begins...
     
  16. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    No problem, Paully. We are here to help if you need any other information.

    Hey, I used to use Linda File Manager too. It was a nice and lightweight file manager.
     
    paully likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...