z4root


Last Updated:

  1. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Ok - It seems as if they have fixed the bug that was blocking this app from rooting the intercept.

    I will try the new one touch method tonight and report back.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SINCEREJ

    SINCEREJ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just rooted my gf intercept using z4...she's officially a Superuser. It worked flawlessly.
     
  3. gilbequick

    gilbequick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is there a step by step how to?

    Does Z4 improve performance in any way, or just allow you to remove core apps? Can you tether with Z4? Does everything else function properly? How long has her phone been rooted? Is she a heavy phone user and if so has she complained about anything not working correctly?
     
  4. CkokRizzo

    CkokRizzo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    really i was unable to get it to work..

    Are you on VM Intercept or Sprint Intercept.

    Edit: i was using the first release.. trying the newest one
     
  5. crawrj

    crawrj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any confirm this is working on the Sprint Intercept? I tried 1.21 and it looked like it worked but does not root. Someone please share if they got it working and how.
     
  6. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    I have tried - Super user Icon Shows up But Busybox isn't recognized -
    Not working 100% for Sprint Intercept -BUMMER
     
  7. CkokRizzo

    CkokRizzo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep it is not working on Sprint.. not getting any super user at all.. this suxs..
     
  8. barfights

    barfights New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this is kosher on the VM Intercept?
     
  9. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    OK OK OK - It is here....new version of Z4Root-
    Will do a SOFT root - (should enable you to remove sprint Bloatware)
    Will unroot on a reboot -
    SUPPOSEDLY Confirmed on the Sprint Samsung Intercept. -

    On the market z4root - Version 1.3
     
  10. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    ***Z4Root***

    CONFIRMED - Temporary Root WORKS!
    You can remove the bloat where via Titanium Backup - And Clear Cache Using CacheMate
    WILL HELP PERFORMANCE OF INTERCEPT
     
  11. Billkwando

    Billkwando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yeah I've *rebrooted* my Sprint Intercept like 3 times today already. Can't decide if I should take Sprint TV off, but it seems like I'll have to, to notice a difference. I don't want to "rob" myself of a service I'm already paying for. Is there anything worth looking at on Sprint TV? I'm in a place where I can only access wifi at the moment so I can't log on to it to see.

    Edit: Also can anyone list each file you need to delete to get rid of the bloatware? I backed up Sprint Zone and deleted it, then rebooted, and the icon is still there, but it just force closes if I click it.

    Also, can this interfere with our ability to upgrade to 2.2 down the line? Like could they say "we can't detect your phone as being a Sprint Intercept, due to the fact that our crap isn't on there, and therefore we're blocking you from downloading the 2.2 update"? (in the form of a short & cryptic error message, I'm sure)
     
  12. mikeybee95

    mikeybee95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to temp root my phone using z4 and it just stayed on the please wait page for around 10 minutes. How long does it usually take?

    *Got it to work**
    Any special apps out there that are good to use when rooted?
     
  13. Billkwando

    Billkwando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    55
    I assume you already got Cache Cleaner and Titanium Backup from the market and cleaned off all the bloatware? I found out that Sprint Zone is easier to get rid of if you go into Applications and click on it and do "Uninstall Updates". You don't have to be rooted to do this.

    I took all the Sprint/Amazon crap off (but left Sprint Updater alone) and have rebooted a couple times, and everything has stayed gone. I honestly don't notice a difference in performance, but I did get some space back. Will get more when I remove z4root, TB, and Cache Cleaner, but like Mikey, I'm looking for other stuff I can do while temp rooted. Maybe block ads or something (Droidwall).

    Is there any risk in repeatedly temp rooting your phone, in and of itself? I know there's lots of stuff you can break while rooted, but I mean the act of rooting itself.

    Edit: I should note, I don't know what CacheMate is, and whenever I try to clear the cache, Cache Cleaner says it's already clear. I'm not doing something wrong, am I?
     
  14. mikeybee95

    mikeybee95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright. I got titanium backup, z4root, cache root. But what do i have to download off the internet to my computer and put on my phone to root it? I thought i figured it out. But I was wrong. Can someone give me a simple walk thru please? I tried following the root instructions on the site, and i just got confused...
     
  15. Billkwando

    Billkwando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    55
    Z4root is all you need. It will ask you to enable USB debugging, then run it again and you can temp root your phone. I haven't tried permanently rooting yet, but I was able to use it to remove the sprint nascar and amazon crap. Don't remove the sprint updater, unless someone else here can say that's ok.
     
    k7aay likes this.
  16. WhoDoGuru

    WhoDoGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Temporary Root works on my Virgin Mobile Intercept :D Permanent Root :(doesn't
     
    k7aay likes this.
  17. mikeybee95

    mikeybee95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    when temp rooted. what do i go to, to delete the apps?
     
  18. Billkwando

    Billkwando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    55
    Open Titanium Backup, which should have root access and show all your apps. Backup (these apps), and then delete Sprint TV, the Sprint TV widget, Sprint Nascar, Sprint NFL, and (after uninstalling the updates from the regular applications screen) then delete Sprint Zone. Do NOT delete Sprint Updater (cos I don't know what it do)

    Then, fry some bacon and enjoy the crispyness of triumph.
     
  19. mikeybee95

    mikeybee95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks :)
     
  20. Billkwando

    Billkwando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    55
  21. k7aay

    k7aay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Z4root has, again, been pulled from the Market. Can you post it, or point to where it can be downloaded? Many thanks.
     
  22. Billkwando

    Billkwando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    55
    Dammit. I guess I can't delete it to make room on my phone.

    Also, Let me google that for you :p

    Seriously though, I assume there's no way for me to copy it off my phone and give it to you, if it comes to that?
     
    k7aay likes this.
  23. k7aay

    k7aay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, if you can get it onto the card, then it can be e-mailed out... but I found it elsewhere.
     
  24. g1701gst

    g1701gst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    you can download the latest z4root here: [APP] z4root - xda-developers

    download the apk file and then use Astro File Manager (free from the market) to install it.
     
  25. zapatista

    zapatista New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ran z4root on Samsung Intercept (Virgin Mobile) Temp root said it was successful. App said it was given superuser user rights. But when I look at all the folders and files they all show as having read only access. Try to delete or rename for example a shutdown.wav in the system folder and it says I have unsufficient privileges. Am I missing a step on how to grant myself superuser rights before being to change permissions to read & write files?

    Thanks for any help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...