1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

zRam


Last Updated:

  1. gmfausey

    gmfausey Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've seen a couple post about changing the setting for the zRam in Memory Management. What exactly is this for? I pretty new to this android thing so if this is a silly question I apologize.
     

    Advertisement
    seancojr and cocheese101 like this.
  2. manukohli

    manukohli New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's basically virtual RAM from what I understand (like the SWAP space on a linux install) - sets disk space to be set aside to be used as "backup RAM" of sorts.
     
  3. gmfausey

    gmfausey Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    SO it's limits the space available for apps to run in the background?
     
  4. bobloadmire

    bobloadmire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    124
    Bottom line. Will this improve performance?
     
  5. gmfausey

    gmfausey Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
  6. thangfish

    thangfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    352
    It sets aside compressed ram to swap to, instead of swapping to disk.

    *Might* improve performance.
    Similar to (or same as?) Compcache in CM7.

    Faster than swap to disk... But the compressed aspect may increase CPU load.
     
    seancojr likes this.
  7. marc12868

    marc12868 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    850
    Here's the article from the wiki:
     
    seancojr and TheBritton like this.
  8. Whyzor

    Whyzor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    966
    It trades CPU cycles for RAM, and only when memory is low. In those situations, without virtual RAM (swapspace), Android kills apps, with zRAM, it would try to compress & save them in swapspace (leaving less regular usable RAM for apps). I personally never used CompCache before, so zRAM is just a newer updated version. To verify it's even enabled, in terminal emulator type 'free -m', and the swap column has to be non-zero.
     
    seancojr likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...