• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

ZTE Majesty Usb device not recognized when connected to win 7 pc

compguy1974

Lurker
Oct 15, 2014
I have a ZTE Majesty phone model z796c android v 4.1.2 my problem is most ofthe time but not every time I connect this phone with any Usb cable (the phone will charge) but it shows the message "Usb device not recognized" when connected to my win 7 pc. this has steadily gotten worse over time I can no longer transfer pics and files due to this I have tried everything I know please help.

I am a computer/electronics tech with almost 20 years experience so I am not a noob but this is about o aggravate me.

So far I can tell you this is what I know and have done so far.

1.To ensure it is not the Pc & that it is virus free, I have completely formatted (high level format not just a standard format) then reloaded with a fresh instal of win 7 + all updates.

"same issue still there"

2. Downloaded any Dell updates, bios updates, and installed as directed etc.

"same issue still there"

3. requested help from Microsoft neither their tech nor myself could find any issues that may be causing this.

4. Contacted (well tried to) ZTE no help, nothing, nada, zip!

I have changed every available setting dealing with usb or pc connectivity that I can find. from charge only, install driver, media device (mtp) * (this is the option that was working perfectly and still on the rare occasion it wants to), to camera (ptp).

Originally the Joinme software had me check the option USB debugging under developer options, I have tried unchecking this and going back to checked as it had me set up with no solution to the problem.

Also when first connected the phone installed the Joinme software/drivers it will no longer do that or give me that option.

HELP PLEASE frustrated!:mad: