1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 1.49 Bootloader

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lukesdiesel, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
    My Droid Eris is running the OTA 2.1 and has the 1.49 Bootloader. I'm wanting to Root my phone only to overclock. Whats the best way to make this happen.


    Luke
     

    Advertisement

  2. danacorbin

    danacorbin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    Accounting
    Pittsburgh
    I hope I don't get flamed for cross-forum posting but the devs over at xda ROCK and I rooted my 1.49 hboot replacement eris with these instructions in about five minutes:

    [WORKING] ROOT for all Eris' - xda-developers

    make sure you thank them for their work! :)
     
  3. D_Sweet

    D_Sweet Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    22
    2
    16
  4. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
  5. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    191
    15
    58
    Male
    School
    Bay Area
    next time you should just look at the stickies first and then search and then maybe look at other forums before posting because this is a subject that i have seen answered many times on different forums.
     
  6. dragg5inbody

    dragg5inbody Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    for real...i saw that dummies thread anad shit worked great!
     
  7. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
    Still didn't work.
     
  8. lennyjew

    lennyjew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    369
    38
    43
    Calibration Technician
    Dublin, Ohio
    Just keep trying, it took mine about 5 or so tries before it took and rooted.
     
  9. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
    I had finally got it to work. Ive tried 6 different ROMS so far.
     
  10. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    Nobody is that unlucky - assuming they have normally functioning hardware.

    Either you are corrupting the ROM .zip files when transferring them to your SD card, or you are forgetting to perform a "Wipe data/factory reset" in Amon_RA recovery prior to Flashing the ROM files.

    Congratulations on your success, though.

    eu1
     
  11. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
    No once I rooted correctly I didn't have any issues. I was just saying ive tried 6 different ROMS.

    Luke
     
  12. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    OK, gotcha.

    6 ROMs in three hours? I find it hard to evaluate ROMs without spending about one day with them - unless I discover a missing feature that I can't live without. (I dumped xtrROM3.1 quickly after figuring out that Gmail push didn't work).

    Did you get your bootloader replaced, so that you have 1.49.2000 S-OFF? (I highly recommend it for safety reasons).

    eu1
     
  13. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
    I'm still running the same bootloader. I just did the Root for Dummies.

    I usually give the Roms 1 day unless it just totally messes up like the Droid Does Rom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...