1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

10 sec delay

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by ayush20m, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. ayush20m

    ayush20m Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    133
    13
    38
    Student
    Texas
    Whenever I am using any app and press the home button, the home screen blacks out for a few secs and it takes around 10 sec to get all the icons back and before I can start using my phone again. I am using a non rooted mytouch 3g.

    This problem does not happen if I exit an app by pressing the back button. It becomes very annoying at times. Plz help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,001
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Yep, that's about right. lol

    If you root the phone there's a way to improve that (and it'll run faster in general), but running stock what you're experiencing is completely normal.
     
  3. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    I wouldn't say 10 secs is that normal, my phone was never that sluggish when I was running stock.

    I recon two possibilities...

    1. You're using a task killer which is killing Home, so it has to reload every time you go home.

    2. You have some widget or rogue app which is causing the slow down.

    I would start by getting rid of any task killer you are using (they are really not necessary) and get rid of widgets one by one to see if it makes a difference.
     
  4. 28064212

    28064212 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    245
    17
    38
    Something's not right there. If you're just running stock android it should be instantaneous. It sounds like you're running a home replacement app, something like PandaHome or aHome (or Sense UI, do you have a HTC?). Most home replacement apps shut down the default Home app, which means it has to start up again from scratch if you've set your Home button to go the default home screen. Do you have one of those apps installed?

    Most task killers should ignore the Home app unless you go to the trouble of shutting down the actual process, and if it was a rogue widget or app, the slowdown would be cross-system, not just when going to the homescreen
     
  5. ayush20m

    ayush20m Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    133
    13
    38
    Student
    Texas
    No i am not using any replacement app for home.

    I removed the task killer and still the problem persists.
     
  6. DarkTLRrider

    DarkTLRrider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008

    Nov 29, 2008
    227
    14
    38
    Boise ID
    Try going into settings>manage apps and clicking on different apps like Facebook and browser and see how large the cache is. Try clearing the cache on some of your programs. That should help. Also go into sd card and phone storage and check your internal storage on my G1 if it gets below 25 MB it starts to get laggy. Clear caches/delete programs to increase internal storage. Try rebooting most phones need to be restarted every couple of days. Your lag is not that bad, if it were worse I would say factory reset.
     
  7. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    I second that, 10 seconds is a long time. I hope you can isolate the problem.
     
  8. ayush20m

    ayush20m Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    133
    13
    38
    Student
    Texas
    Thanks for the suggestion. But I have already rooted the phone now. Sorry wont be able to confirm if that was the solution to my problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...