• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help 100MB of internal storage... but "insufficient space on device"???

Hello,

First off, I must say that I am extremely new to Android, (like... a day old user lol) and I know pretty much nothing when it comes to terms, so if you have a suggestion, please write it as if I don't know what you are talking about :)

So basically I am trying to download an app called Doodle Fit (free) and it needs 28.72MB. When I try to install it it tells me I have insufficient space on my device. So I went to check it out... I THINK in the right area and saw this:

Settings > Applications > Running Services > Avail: 105MB+75MB in 10 (although those numbers keep changing...)

Settings > SD card and phone storage settings > SD card: Total space 1.84GB, Available space 1.78GB and Interval phone storage : 106MB.

So I am assuming I have at least 100MB of space right? but I cant download something under 30MB??? why is this?

Also, I tried downloading flash and it failed... I got the archived version 10.1 from the adobe site and put it on the sd card but it wouldn't install, so I deleted that file. I heard people talking about "bad flash", is this what they mean?

And lastly, I technically have a Samsung Galaxy Q because I'm Canadian, but it's still a SGH-T589R

Thanks in advance!

The Google Play store downloads apps to the cache partition which has a whopping 20mb. So, regardless of how much space the rest of your phone has, the phone will not download any app larger than 20mb from the Google Play store.

Check the Amazon App Store to see if you can get it there. The Amazon App Store does not have such a limitation.

hi, does anyone know if this problems occurs when downloading apps from the laptop as opposed from directly from the browser? It's driving me mad and I'm tempted to return the phone!