1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 12 key input mode gone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MichaelW, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. MichaelW

    MichaelW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    364
    26
    43
    Hi, just got my Galaxy which came with firmware II4. I thought I may as well update to the latest (II5) before I started using it properly, which I've done, but it now seems to be missing the option to set the input to "12 key" mode.

    Is there some way to enable this, or is it possible to go back to II4?
     

    Advertisement

  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    What do you mean by 12-key mode?

    I only have a qwerty virtual keyboard (plus a Scandinavian variant that I got from the Market) which is available for all apps; and the dial pad which is only available in the dialer (just like the calculator, it's really app ui buttons rather than a keyboard per se).

    If you mean a classic phone-style keypad which you can use T9 on, I guess that's only available as separate variants (analogous to my Scandinavian above).
     
  3. MichaelW

    MichaelW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    364
    26
    43
    Yes I mean classic phone-style keypad. Before I got it I could set "12 key" mode for input when holding the phone upright and still got the QWERTY layout when holding it sideways.

    So this would be a UK specific thing then? I believe the firmware I applied was the german one but I removed the cache file (CSC) thing. Is there a UK specific version of this file which would enable that again?
     
  4. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    Nope not as yet. There aren't any O2 uk firmware files available. As soon as they release one we can extract the CSC. You're only other option is to ask someone with an O2 phone to root, wipe, and make a nandroid backup - which would be a clean backup of the filesystem. You could then apply this to your phone.

    Would be nice to have if someone feels like doing it?
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    thats odd, on any versions of this phone i couldnt do that unless i had installed a 3rd party kb app like the htc or better keyboard
     
  6. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    253
    1
    36
    Touchpal does that too and the beta is free on the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...