1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Accessories 16GIG Class 2 card reading as 14.9GIG.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nagrom, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. Nagrom

    Nagrom Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    808
    77
    78
    Cheshire UK
    Hi Boardies.

    Okay so I just got my new class 2 16GIG card. Yeah I know Class 2 is slowest of the range, but it's also the cheapest.

    However when I first put it in the phone, it's reading 14.9GIG. Even after formatting it it still reads the same.

    I'm not that clued up on MSD cards, is this normal?

    Andy
     

    Advertisement

  2. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    Yes that's normal.If you look at your computers hard drive it will be the same.Something to do with the way manufacturers measure the size.
     
    Nagrom likes this.
  3. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    It's normal, due to some formatting process, or how they're built, or something like that, memory storage devices like memory cards, usb sticks, hard drives in ipods etc, always display a lower capacity than stated. It's just how it is. My 320gb hdd on my pc only formats to 293~gb, that's over 20gb lost.
     
    Nagrom likes this.
  4. samdale36

    samdale36 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    64
    8
    16
    I think its something to do with manufacturers basing the number of Gb on there being 1000Mb in a Gb. In reality, there are 1024Mb in a Gb so the computer/phone shows less (these figures are approximate but you get the idea).

    This explains it in a more complicated manner Hard drive showing wrong capacity? Here's why. - PCMech Forums
     
    Nagrom likes this.
  5. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    On a pc 1 gb = 1024 mb but hard drive manufactures & memory card manufactures class 1gb = 1000 mb therefore a computer will always read it as less than 1gb
     
    Nagrom likes this.
  6. Nagrom

    Nagrom Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    808
    77
    78
    Cheshire UK
    Okay guys, as usual this board proves to be the most friendly, and helpful I've ever been a member of.

    Thanks all.

    Andy
     
  7. thelostmango

    thelostmango Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Yeah, not only do they calculate gigabytes as 1000mb, but a megabyte as 1000kb and a kilobyte as 1000 bytes.

    So the manufacturer is giving you 16,000,000,000 bytes. The computer converts this into 16,000,000,000/(1024
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Although most of the posts in this thread are correct there is a technical inaccuracy which my pedantic side just can't allow. GB, MB, gigabyte, megabyte. Gb, Mb, gigabit, megabit. Bytes usually used as sizes and bits sometimes used as transfer speeds. A bit is 1/8th of a byte. This is why when internet.explorer gives a lower KB/s than you expect to be downloading....

    Nothing to do with the post but I'm bored and had to.get it off my chest
     
  9. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

     
  10. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,939
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,939
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Almost every country in the world uses a decimal number system (I can't think of a single one that doesn't - feel free to enlighten me if there are any.) For that reason I think the most logical way to measure things is also using a decimal system, not hexadecimal, binary or any other numeric system. It would make more sense for computers to adopt the sizes used by manufacturers.
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK


    Binary is the native language computers run on. Its a technological standard. It has to count in binary. Why not use binary?
    Imperial measurements arent metric, therefore not entirety decimal.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...