1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

1900 MHz sightings and experiences thread

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by bob60626, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    I got 6mbps up on my unlocked AT&T Captivate in Wicker Park, Chicago. Still don't like the phone that much but whatever. :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,089
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    1,089
    197
    143
    Male
    High School!
    A yellow house
    I'm in jackonville florida and have an originally telus amaze its unlocked and I can get like 12mb download 100 or less ping and like 1 mb upload. :D

    That's great and I can also get an unlocked worldwide gsm phone and it will work on T-Mobile. :cool:
     
  3. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    You got 25 up? I thought the refarming was limited to 21mbps.
     
  5. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Some areas with enough PCS spectrum have DC-HSPA+
     
  6. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    HSPA+ 42, so theoretical speeds of 42mbps
     
  7. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Four month old stock unlocked i717, Wicker Park Chicago-[​IMG]
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    FWIW, I put the SIM from my T-Mo hotspot (only regular sized I have) in my old unlocked at&t Motorola Q, and got a strong 3G signal...Q only has 850/1900, and I only got 2G a few weeks/months ago. I couldn't test speeds as the account is not provisioned for a phone, but I usually see about 15Mbs down at home.
     
  9. Carolina Media

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    71
    13
    18
    Cell Phone Dealer
    Charlotte, NC
    Saw 11 up, 2 down on my Verizon iPhone 5 here in Charlotte.

    I notice that the building penetration on the 1900mhz band is extremely weak. Literally goes from 5 bars outside in some places to 1-2 bars once you walk inside some buildings.

    The AWS building penetration is much better as of now. Maybe it will improve over time.
     
  10. epp

    epp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    208
    21
    58
    Boston, MA
    I'm not sure if the Boston area has 1900 UMTS yet, but I have been told by T-Mobile that if an Android has UMTS on both 1700/2100 and 1900 (as my Galaxy Exhibit 2 and Prism do), the phones will NOT automatically use 1900 UMTS, once it goes live.

    If most of the UMTS spectrum is being moved to 1900, then it would be smart of T-Mobile to OTA update the SIM cards to use 1900 by default, if the phone doesn't support 1900, then it would continue to use 1700/2100 as it does now.

    Make sense??
     
  11. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Most of the time AWS1700 will be better than PCS1900 since on AWS you have HSPA+42 but on PCS you have HSPA+21
     
  12. epp

    epp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    208
    21
    58
    Boston, MA
    The Galaxy Exhibit 2 is HSPA+14 and the Prism is HSPA+7, so it probably wouldn't matter.

    Speed-wise, I have hit 7Mb tops on the Exhibit 2 and 2-3Mb tops on the Prism with the Speedtest.net app. I'm getting nowhere near 14Mb and 7Mb speeds with those phones locally.

    However, on the EDGE network with the app, the download speed once exceeded 200Kb to T-Mobile's Speedtest server in New York City (Manhattan), while I was in southeastern Connecticut. I understand 200Kb is at the upper end of EDGE speeds.
     
  13. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    It would still matter because on HSPA+42 there's more overall bandwidth available
     
  14. epp

    epp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    208
    21
    58
    Boston, MA
    That's interesting because I though the bandwidth would actually be less.
     
  15. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    HSPA+42 uses 2x the spectrum HSPA+21
    Spectrum=Bandwidth
     
  16. epp

    epp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    208
    21
    58
    Boston, MA
    I see. Thanks. :)
     
  17. josborne6

    josborne6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    188
    15
    38
    Male
    Healthcare
    Lithia, FL
    Getting it in Tampa/Brandon FL. Avg. 10Mb/s
     
  18. zachavm

    zachavm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jul 31, 2011
    272
    51
    53
    It's getting a pretty good rollout in OKC. I have an unlocked AT&T Note 2 I'm using. However, I did the hack that unlocks AWS HSPA+ so I can't tell specifically when I'm on what now. However, before I did it I was getting 10+ Mb/s downloads at my house.
     
  19. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    been using an unlocked AT&T one x,since i could get s off for it. been stuck on edge data since ive been using it. popped my sim back into my international one x this morning for S&Gs and lo and behold,H data :eek:

    getting a pretty consistent 5-6 mbps down,with a best of a dozen tests or so below. in in dayton,oh :)

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...