1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [1st Gen] How is the fire rooted,custom roms?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Roush, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. Roush

    Roush Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    30
    2
    16
    I just got my fire today, and I'm debating on returning it for a htc flyer. My main question / concern is, even if I root the fire, and put on a custom Rom, wont the lack of buttons screw me over on a Rom? Are there even Roms for the fire? Doesn't the lack of volume keys drive you crazy? Am I over reacting, and it's really not that bad,or I'll get used to it? What's your experiences?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,214
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,214
    389
    163
    rooted last night and installed the android market and go launcher and it is a changed device. No problems witht he lack of buttons as it has soft keys on the bottom in the launcher now. By using both the stock launcher and go together (well, one at a time of course) it seems to have the features it was designed to have as well as being a standard android tablet. I don't see a reason to run a custom rom on it yet.
     
  3. sjael

    sjael Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    48
    36
    23
    There is a pretty darn stable CM7 for the Fire, and ICS is on the way.

    CM7 has tablet-specific accessibility features built in - including on-screen soft-keys like Honeycomb/ICS. Naturally ICS will bring native soft-keys to the party too. The only input feature you're missing over a full-price Android tablet then is volume keys - which Volume Control can handily replicate.
     
    bearstud likes this.
  4. KX4SAM

    KX4SAM Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    75
    1
    16
    Electronic Repair
    Summerville, SC
    I am running CM7 on my droid X, If I load CM7 on my fire, do I need to also load the kindle app to read books.
     
  5. Guardsix

    Guardsix Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yes!
     
  6. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Whew! I've been sweating this thread out for a month now waiting for an answer! :eek::p
     
  7. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    I'm running CM7 on my Fire with ADW EX and it is as close to perfect as we're probably going to get. Wish web browsing be a little smoother, and with there was a way to make the screen more sensitive or responsive to touch, but these have nothing to do with the ROM. CM7 is just awesome on there Fire.
     
  8. yjkoh

    yjkoh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012

    Feb 4, 2012
    17
    2
    16
    i kept my fire stock for about 8 hours after getting in and rooted and put cm7 on it. I did not like the stock amazon software at all. I actually have a regular kindle as my ereader and wanted to use the fire as a cheap tablet. CM7 makes a world of a difference in my opinion, feels more like an android device. The only issue's I've found so far is when I click on a photo in facebook for some reason the soft keys in the lower navigation bar don't show up and you are essentially stuck. I had to press the power key on quickly and tap back real fast before the navigation bar disappears.
     

Share This Page

Loading...