• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root 1st timer, rooted and s-off, what now???

liam79

Lurker
Jan 10, 2012
OK just rooted my desire for the first time and got s-off thanks to the guides here in the forums, my question is what next.... please bear in mind im VERY new to this and im already confused as to the next steps ie: app2sd, partitioning/allocating memory for ROM etc.
Escentially Ive gone down the root road as after just over a year, the desire is running out of internal memory and becoming slow as hell!!
Many thanks in advance

well i liked the look of cm7 so i went ahead and flashed it, all went well :)
so.... now i have learnt to flash new roms, which is a good start- and it has freed up alot of space aswell (i also cleaned out the bulky stuff from the sd card while i was at it)
So what next to help optimise this "new" phone??

Upvote 0
Just sharing my thoughts. I personally don't like all the sense stuff, I find it bloat. Much prefer AOSP roms. They seem smaller, slicker and quicker. There are 2 I'd recommend from both personal experience and from months of following and reading threads on XDA.

First is the rom you are running Cyanogen 7.1. With this rom you can actually repartition the Desires memory shifting over 70mb of wasted space across from System to Data. This is because, being an AOSP rom, it is smaller. You can also partition your SD card as well to install/move stuff over to there. (fat32 followed by ext 4 partition - done with gparted.)

Secondly, a slightly more extreme approach, is a rom by a really helpful guy on this site, SUroot. His rom is even smaller than CM7.1 and moves even more of the desires now unused space across from System to data, and also moving 35mb of the cache across as well. This virtually negates the need for partitioning the sd card.