1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 2.0.1 available in the UK

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by celios, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    Not OTA yet, but using the Motorola Software Update tool seems to be working:

    Motorola - MILESTONE - Mobile Phone Software Update - Motorola UK

    Just updated mine, new unlock screen, voice search still working, camera focus now working and new power widget available. etc. Phone is reporting 2.0.1 as the firmware version.

    :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. stig

    stig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    United Kingdom (England)
    Excellent news! Installing as I type... Still not working OTA though.

    Just need to keep naggin them about the 2.1 update now! :)
     
  3. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    Only downside I can see so far is that the jerky scrolling on some image heavy web sites is still present as it was on the Droid update.

    It's not unusable, but it is irritating. Especially after a 1.5 month wait.
     
  4. dunjamon

    dunjamon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    351
    16
    58
    I tried to update mine but its not working. :(

    I've installed the software and connected my phone, but it keeps saying connect device.
     
  5. stig

    stig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    United Kingdom (England)
    Also noticed a new 'Audio Effects' app which seems to be an Equalizer for choice between Stereo Headset and Phone Speaker.
     
  6. stig

    stig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    United Kingdom (England)
    Mine kept doing that for a while. Make sure you install the USB driver and try different USB sockets.
     
  7. dunjamon

    dunjamon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    351
    16
    58
    Cheers fella, updating now. Re-installed driver, software and rebooted everything.

    fingers crossed facebook sync now works.
     
  8. marknbrandon

    marknbrandon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    Male
    Where is the OTA update for the uk?

    We are not expected to have to go and download this update are we?

    The facebook page says that the europe rollout is complete now....that is pretty crap if they are not pushing this out, especially after forcing us to wait!
     
  9. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    Yeah spotted that as well. Did the Droid get this with it's 2.0.1 update, or is this a Milestone 'bonus' I wonder?
     
  10. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    Early days, but battery life with 2.0.1 seems better for me. Fingers crossed I might be able to get 2 days between charges now.
     
  11. dunjamon

    dunjamon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    351
    16
    58
    Same here...plus it seems to be a bit faster too.
     
  12. beezer123

    beezer123 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    17
    0
    35
    Just updated to 2.0.1 after a while of hell..

    Now got it running perfectly.
    Also noticed a new Phone screen. When someone calls the answer/decline screen has changed. :)
     
  13. Sparkle1975

    Sparkle1975 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    29
    4
    16
    Updated yesterday, and this morning my alarm clock failed. On my screen it says "handcent sms not responding", the led was blue, and probably I have recieved an sms while sleeping.
     
  14. yeti

    yeti Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    UK
    last i heard from the offical support forums was that there was server problems for the OTA roll out but this was expected to be resolved by end next week i.e. 19th Feb (i think)

    i use linux and dont want to fluff around installing Windows XP/Vista and install drivers etc. just for this update
     
  15. Systems

    Systems Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just updated. Took ages and was very nerve-wracking, but it did it in the end. Restarted sync as instructed.

    My power widget is now big and black, not small and white, and apart from that yes there are the audio thing and the phone screen changes. Hopefully my battery will last longer too.

    Now to go through it all again for 2.1 in a week or so.
     
  16. decon89

    decon89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    4
    0
    25
  17. stig

    stig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    United Kingdom (England)
    If they get the 2.1 update out within a week or so I will eat my socks! It took them 3-4 months to get 2.01 to the Milestone :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...