1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 2.1 experiencing issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bullitt_McQueen, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. Bullitt_McQueen

    Bullitt_McQueen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    158
    12
    38
    Hi all, posted this in the issues and problems sticky but not sure if it'll get looked at. updated to 2.1 a couple of days ago and I have a couple of questions

    1. Is there any way to switch off the automatic screen brightness? Damn annoying especially when playing Angry Birds.

    2. Is anyone else having problems with Mediascape and playing music whereby music stutters considerably when the phone is under load? It happens when i open messages, email, settings... doesn't matter what! I can't live with that. If these questions have been covered I apologise - I have searched but found nothing.

    Thanks guys,
     

    Advertisement

  2. D3sRtH4mmR

    D3sRtH4mmR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    60
    11
    18
    1.You can set the brightness in Menu-Settings-Sound & Display-Brightness. What you set should stick. Not sure where your problem is.
    2. I don't use Mediascape.
     
  3. Bullitt_McQueen

    Bullitt_McQueen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    158
    12
    38
    Thanks D3sRtH4mmR, but not a very helpful post if you don't mind me saying.

    Just FYI, SE decided to remove the option for us to toggle automatic brightness on and off and instead leave it permanently on. I'm asking if anyone knows of a way to manipulate the process which controls this functionality so I can turn it off.

    Before I go to SE / Vodafone about the music stutter problem I'm experiencing, can anyone else confirm they have suffered this? Would one of you guys mind testing your handsets to see if you can recreate this l? If it's just me then I guess I'll try a reflash...
     
  4. madmurdoch

    madmurdoch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    86
    15
    18
    Newcastle, UK
    Curvefish Brightness widget is a good thing to download by the way....
     
    Bullitt_McQueen likes this.
  5. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    If you set it at a certain percent it will stop it adjusting automatically, therefore essentially turning it off. Mines set at 100%. I also don't use Mediascape.
     
  6. Bullitt_McQueen

    Bullitt_McQueen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    158
    12
    38
    Madmurdoch - thanks very much! Just downloading it now.

    X10i - you're obviously the second person to say that you don't use Mediascape so now I'm wondering, is there an alternative? Maybe something with a graphic EQ?!

    Thank you both,
     
  7. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    There are a load of alternatives, I use Winamp for music and Meridian for videos, but there are one or too that I can't recall that do have an equaliser, and the 3D gallery app for my photos.
     
  8. mr_esmit

    mr_esmit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    89
    2
    16
    How do I uninstall Mediascape and timescape on an x10i, 2.1 android, rooted??? Thanks.
     
  9. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    With Titanium Backup. If you buy it you can just freeze them.
     
  10. Merolas

    Merolas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    413
    29
    43
    Male
    IT consultant
    Montreal
    I also experience that screen brightness flicks even if there is no auto-mode anymore. I've set it up to 100% and even with that it will do it when i play games.
     
  11. mr_esmit

    mr_esmit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    89
    2
    16
    How so??, not very tech savy.. Thanks.
     
  12. Wisenos

    Wisenos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    519
    23
    83
    you wouldn't understand lol
    so to answer, Just FYI we have a multi-function widget that can auto/maxed/off brightness?
    3rd screen(the lil sun)
    here is our auto/maxed/off brightness widget right under this word
    [​IMG]
     
  13. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Install, run, Backup/Restore, tap on app, uninstall, done.
     
  14. mr_esmit

    mr_esmit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    89
    2
    16
    Thanks
     
  15. Bullitt_McQueen

    Bullitt_McQueen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    158
    12
    38
    Back to the original topic...

    Curvefish doesn't work unfortunately, but the built in "Power Control" widget does with its 3 brightness settings.

    I downloaded and bought PowerAMP - in a word, wow - but the stuttering of my music is still occurring.

    Has anyone else experienced this? Please help guys, I'm at the end of my tether with it.

    Thanks,
     
  16. undies

    undies Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    22
    8
    16
    UK
    What are the same music files like on your PC when playing them?
     
  17. Bullitt_McQueen

    Bullitt_McQueen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    158
    12
    38
    Absolutely perfect.
     
  18. undies

    undies Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    22
    8
    16
    UK
    From your SD card?
     
  19. Bullitt_McQueen

    Bullitt_McQueen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    158
    12
    38
    Ah. Not sure about that one.

    Shall I add the files to a Media Player playlist and play them from the phone, undies? What you thnking?
     
  20. n0rm4n

    n0rm4n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Singapore

    Sorry for out of the topic but is the Titanium Backup only work with rooted phone ? I mean if I want to uninstall my TimeScape and MediaScape..

    Thanks
     
  21. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
  22. rajesh844

    rajesh844 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Have just bought an Xperia-10i_How to change file name in Mediascape
     

Share This Page

Loading...