1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2.1 power widgets

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cacaman, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Im using the new fresh 2.1 ROM which is awesome. In 1.5 I used the settings widgets to turn on/off wifi, 3g etc. On 2.1 there is a power manager widget that basically has wifi, BT, GPS, screen brightness and sync all in one widget. I liked the other widgets better as I had the ability to turn off 3g with it. Is there any way to get thos widgets back in 2.1? Another thing I've noticed is that in 1.5 you could turn off the GPS and not affect the location services but in 2.1 I cant find a similar setup.... any ideas??
     

    Advertisement

  2. jeremylobaugh

    jeremylobaugh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    109
    17
    58
    Ericsson contractor for Sprint - Switch Technician
    Erie, PA, USA
    search the market for onoff. they are a series of widgets from Curvefish that should get the job done. I used them on my Moment
     
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    those widgets are already in there. They're HTC widgets, just add them the same way you did before ("+">widget>settings).

    I noticed the same thing about location services though, kind of annoying. I'd much rather have the network determine my location rather than use the GPS. Might be something we've got to ask Flipz about.
     
  4. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Yep I really dont like to have the gps on all the time....
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    just checked with google maps, and it looks like if you turn GPS off, it still detects your location with the network. Accurate to within 3600 meters, but it detects it :p
     
  6. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Yeah I noticed this also. I just wonder why in 1.5 the location icon on the notification bar was normal and in 2.1 it has that line across if you dont have the gps on.
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    just a bug probably
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...