1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 2.1 Start-up screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Traviswf, May 22, 2010.

  1. Traviswf

    Traviswf Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    78
    5
    16
    I was just wondering - on the 2.1 leak I have the bare-bones looking white screen with the yellow letters on it saying "HTC" when I boot up my phone.

    I miss the silver on black logo with the little green android guy waving at me. Anyone know if its possible to get that screen back?

    Obviously... not a critical issue... but I did think the previous loading screen was a nice touch.
     

    Advertisement

  2. toasty

    toasty Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    290
    25
    63
    agreed. I miss that little guy.
     
  3. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    I know it is meaningless and minuscule, but I too miss the cool HTC Start-up graphics that 1.5 had :'(
     
  4. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #591
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38
    The little green guy that waved was really cool. OK, somebody code an app that just runs this little animation when you launch it. :)
     
  5. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Yup - I miss him too.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    Have to get kitchen and you can add a new boot screen with it
     
  7. akkidy

    akkidy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    58
    10
    18
    There's plenty of discussion in another forum about customizing boot animation. You can even do it without root access, just need to push your custom bootanimation.zip file to /data/local directory using adb. If you have root access, you can replace the sprint default boot animation located in /system/media/. Just do a google search for bootanimation.zip and you will see plenty of instructions and ready made boot animations. I'm actually in the process of creating my own custom boot too. I miss the android waiving. I also like to see it back.
     
  8. akkidy

    akkidy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    58
    10
    18
    For those people who miss the original 1.5 boot animation with htc and hero android animation, I've created one for 2.1. Just push using adb to /data/local/ so you keep your original 2.1 boot animation in case you don't like this one.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6886218/bootanimation.zip
     
    vals4con, Chief YYZ, cephraim and 3 others like this.
  9. geeingu

    geeingu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    im sorry im a noob to this, anyone care to do a step by step i miss that lil guy
     
  10. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit

    yeah, I don't know what any of that means - lol
     
  11. akkidy

    akkidy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    58
    10
    18
    jimdroid likes this.
  12. dksnet

    dksnet Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    2.1 has a lame boot appearance and really did nothing but cause the weather app to not work as good. Bring back 1.5 or get 2.2 ready and don't screw it up.
    It made it look boring and actually seems to take longer to boot. Booooooo tooooo twoooo . one
    Reminds me of all the hype people praised Windows Vista and then POOF. Nada. POS it was.
     
  13. tazcollins

    tazcollins Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    176
    7
    36
    Ft. Worth, Tx.
    I'm staying with 1.5. TC
     
  14. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    I wish I could go back - I can't type a fcking thing in landscape mode!
     
  15. MarvinDog

    MarvinDog Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    This is fantastic! The only thing that really bugged me about the 2.1 update was the loss of the waving little guy, and how the word NOW stayed on the screen. Now he's back, better than ever, and the cheap-looking Sprint animation is gone.

    This was so easy I might even make a start up screen of my own.
     
  16. mooshell

    mooshell Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    37
    1
    36
    CDAC Provider
    Birdland, Iowa
    That large yellow "NOW" when the phone boots up cheeses me off, wish they'd stuck with the old boot screen. I know what phone and carrier I have -- no need to pimp it to me ad nauseam ...

     
  17. dksnet

    dksnet Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Is this download the full 1.5 boot animation? With the burning sprint and waving android and all?
     
  18. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I am so glad I installed this! :D Thanks for making it!
     
  19. booklady

    booklady Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    34
    2
    36
    Michigan
    I still can't load it! Can anyone point to other instructions or tell me what I may be missing here?
     
  20. akkidy

    akkidy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    58
    10
    18
    Have you rooted your phone? If you did, you can use an app like Root Explorer, copy the bootanimation.zip file from /sdcard (assuming you have moved the file to your sdcard and paste it in /data/local directory. Hope that helps.
     
  21. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    169
    3
    36
    You rock! Thanks!
     
  22. idle19

    idle19 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    21
    3
    16

    what about the people who haven't rooted?
     
  23. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
  24. Chief YYZ

    Chief YYZ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    168
    147
    98
    Male
    Central Illinois

    Awesome! Thank you!
     
  25. dksnet

    dksnet Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Does this put all of the original 1.5 STARTUP back on the phone?

    Thanks, Ladies and Gentlemen
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...